You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Modern Slavery in Cornwall, England

in #busy5 years ago

It is shocking in this day and age that silvery is still so rampant I was reading some articles and research on it this weekend, I do agree lets just call it it what it is and not try and not dilute it with other names.

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Sort:  

I think the thing that shocks me the most is that it is happening right under our noses? I'm half inclined to start visiting the fields around here to see how many people are being exploited.

We had a case this week of a slave gang numbering 400 people being enslaved right here in the West Midlands (Birmingham)!!? Working for no money and being kept in appaling conditions.

Their passports were taken off of them and they were told that if they got caught out on the streets they would be deported?

This is the gang that was running the slaves. Allegedly all Polish and their victims were also Polish? What kind of person does something like this? It's bewildering.

[Source BBC News]

I just do now know how people can do this it is beyond me and shocking, and what’s worse is that is so rampant and yet doesn’t seem to make the news or being shut down as actively s we feel it should be

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77