Ten Things Papa Made Sure Stuck With Me

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Growing up, I know I hung on to every word of my father as if it was absolutely true. Which is why I want to take a look at some of those things he said that stuck with me from childhood, through the lenses of the little experience I have garnered till date.

images(2).jpg

1. There are many ways to enter the pool. The stairs isn't one of them.

Now I know this to be true, literally and figuratively. Literally, those stairs are there for you to get out of the water, its remaining perimeter is left open for you to invent how you want to get in.
Figuratively, I think he was trying to tell me: If you want to do something son, be sure about it.

2. Always use we when referring to your home team or government.

Reflecting on it now, who else do they represent if not me? Most especially in the case of the government, I played a part in their being there, so whatever their actions right now, I'm responsible for it too.

3. Just because you can doesn't mean you should.

My Dad actually took time to explain this one to me. There are times when you feel compelled to do certain things, just because you have the opportunity or ability. But it is not every time you should give in to those thoughts. There are times when you should just let things go, not because you can't, but because you know it is not right, because you know the damage it will cause is greater than any pleasure you may derive from it.

4. You only get one chance to notice a new haircut.

And a hair-do too if you ask me. Most times, people expect you to compliment them on their new hairstyle. Once you miss that little window they left open for you, forget it, especially the ladies (winks).

5. If you are staying more than a night, better unpack.

Yeah, and save yourself the stress of having to go through your luggage everytime you need something.

6. A suntan is earned, not bought.

I was perplexed why he kept saying this, seeing that we live in a tropical area where we don't even need to work for the tan. But with time, I grew to realize he was using this metaphorically. Ask me what he meant right now and I'd tell you: "You've got to put in the work required if you desire something, not just expect everything to click into place for you"

7. All guns are loaded.

Now I know for certain he never loaded the rifle he put on display at home because I tried shooting with it a couple of times. Guess he knew someone was going to try that. But the message which I got from him always saying this is that: "Don't underestimate anyone or anything. Treat all as equal."

8. Don't linger in the doorway. In or Out.

I'm sure this one makes sense to everyone, figuratively, though my Dad meant it literally a lot of times. Taking that first step, the leap of faith, no more procrastination but making those decisions. These are what that statement has come to mean for me.

9. Never get your hair cut the day of a special event.

There's a couple of personal reasons I agree with it. Those little bits of hair just keep on finding new ways of sneaking into my clean shirt and disturbing the hell out of me. Plus, I've got to get comfortable with my new look. God help me, if the haircut turns out bad, I'm going to go scrambling for a cap or hat to cover it up with. So if you've got a special event lined up, please get your hair in order before the D-day.

10. When you marry someone, remember you marry their entire family too.

I figure Papa was trying to tell me to make the right choice of a woman, and my second family. But I'm always quick to think to myself: "On the other hand, if I marry someone, her entire family should get ready, cos they married me too"

So I've spilt it, ten things Papa used to tell me. I know they are more than ten, but I've got to stick to my moniker, @tenten

Sort:  

You got a 5.21% upvote from @upboater courtesy of @paragon99!

Release the Kraken! You got a 1.95% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @tenten!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73