Other Lives -- other lives I would live if I had more than one -- #1 Life on the Farm

in #busy6 years ago

RanchHouseGrasslands-001-100617.jpg
Image Source

Life on the farm

My grandmother grew up on a farm in Texas somewhere near Mineral Wells and spent her entire adult life determined to never set foot on one again. I think she equated life-on-the-farm with being looked down on, impoverished and "low class."

She wasn't one to put on airs, but once she got away from that life, she wanted nothing more to do with it ... ever. But she married a man who longed to be a farmer. One look at all the Earth in his chart and it's clear he was designed to be one.

My grandmother wouldn't hear of it though, so to please her, he became a carpenter, a builder, an artist with lumber and tools. He started his own general contracting business and made a very good living at it. But when they divorced after more than 20 years together, he went back to his original dream, bought 40 acres in rural Arkansas just outside El Dorado and took up farming on his own land as a second job.

cws.gif

Country Home-080816.jpg
Image Source

Heaven on earth

His home there was set in a jewel of a place, with trees and trails, pastures and a year-round pond he stocked every year with bass, trout and perch. When I was a child, his farm was my favorite place in all creation. It had cows, goats, sheep and pigs. Chickens and ducks. Dogs, cats and kittens, and rabbits. And that pond ... a real-life fishing hole, just like in the movies.

When we began to visit regularly, my grandfather bought four Shetland ponies ... three mares and a stallion. A mean little rascal named Lightning who would sooner bite you as look at you -- so you had to watch yourself around him. But oddly, he was the most agreeable of the bunch to ride -- well-trained and willing, and just ornery enough to be interesting.

There were new colts every year -- new babies of all kinds. To me the place was heaven on earth. If I could have lived there forever, I'd have signed on in a heartbeat. It had a half-acre garden my grandfather tilled with a tractor ... and where they grew every vegetable known to man. Cucumbers, beans, peas, radishes, potatoes, carrots and corn, turnips and beets. Row after row of something different. I won't even try to name them all.

cws.gif

HydroponicHerbGarden-051518.jpg
Image Source

Homesteading ... before it was cool

His new wife had a small herb garden off to the side. She made her own spices (and home-made sausage). She canned and froze what they harvested for the winter, stored on shelves and in four huge chest freezers they had in the basement.

There were fruit trees all across the back yard. I would practically eat myself sick on green apples and plums. I couldn't imagine why anyone would choose to live any other way -- if they had any say in the matter at all.

For several years I tried to convince my parents to sell our house, buy some land and take up that lifestyle. Until I was finally ordered to stop talking about it. After three years in Dallas, my family moved to Denver ... no longer a five hour drive to El Dorado or a six hour drive to Lubbock where my grandmother lived. Colorado was a foreign country. I never learned to like it. I was so glad when we finally left.

cws.gif

GreenApples-001-051518.jpg
Image Source

Now just memories

I saw my grandfather two ... maybe three more times. He died when I was 24. I never saw Arkansas again. Our last conversation was a long distance call. I was in Tucson. He was still in El Dorado. Life for both of us ... everyone in the family ... had suddenly turned bewildering and sad -- reached on a journey that covered far more distance than mere miles.

But in those years of my childhood ... when I was 8 to 11, the golden hours and sun-drenched days I spent on his farm left their mark ... like the mosquito bites I wore by the dozen ... carried in memories so vivid it's like part of me still lives there, with my pony to ride, surrounded by all kinds of babies ... and all the green fruit I can reach.

cws.gif

About the art in our visual essays ...

Although sometimes the background pictures in our visual essays support the topic and text, they don't always. Sometimes the connection is clear. Sometimes it's symbolic and subtle. Sometimes, there's no connection at all.

The scenes depict landscapes and natural features, buildings and wildlife. They were chosen because they show something lovely or interesting ... or simply because the photo appealed to me.

Our spectacular and remarkable planet is changing at astonishing speed. Rarely are these changes for the better. Few people seem to know ... or care ... or have the will and power to do anything about this. It may not be long before the world humans have known and lived in for centuries is forever lost. We certainly won't be able to make repairs as fast as we destroyed it.

So a few years ago I began collecting pictures of the way things were ... and still are for now, a record of the beauty we have while it is still ours to love and honor.

The photos here are part of that collection, with sincere thanks to the artists who saw these moments ... and with their cameras ... preserved them. All of us at Enchanted Spirit are profoundly grateful to them for their generosity and skill ... and for the added grace, depth and dimension their art brings to ours.

Original images used under this Creative Commons license or this Creative Commons license and modified by added text.

cws.gif

enchanted_red.png

cws.gif

The STEEM Engine

cws.gif

thealliance_logo.png

cws.gif

Isle of Write

cws.gif

cws.gif

LadiesOfSteemit

cws.gif

BTV2.png

cws.gif

#thesteemengine #thealliance #steemusa #isleofwrite #qurator

cws.gif

Sort:  

I don't know why, but your post and way of seeing nature and life reminds me a lot of how life is intended in Italy. Vineyard in Tuscany and try to live without the Megalopolis stress.
The landscapes are really different indeed!
Thanks for the description and the touching photo part, loved the post @theweaselwife!

I spent ages 7 to 10 living on a farm near Toronto. The front half grew wheat, the back was woodland with a stream running through it. A very cold stream, the winter I fell in it. There is nothing quite like a half mile trudge with ice water in your wellies.

We had a modest vegetable garden, the best part of which was the corn. From the moment it is picked the sugar turns to starch. By the time you buy corn in the grocery store, it is 2 to 3 days old. Corn on the cob is at its best if it goes in boiling water within 5 minutes of cutting down.

Definitely the best place I ever lived other than mountains. And the best foster parents I ever had, by a country mile.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Where in Dallas? We lived 30 miles north of Dallas for years growing up and then returned there after getting married. I love this story and I can just see you running around in the sunshine and seeing all the animals. That sounds really nice and like a great childhood. I have a few memories of running around in my childhood...it's interesting to think of what my kids will remember from theirs. Hopefully it isn't all video games and TV shows!

Just on the south edge of Garland. Here's a picture of the house. It was still under construction -- just getting finished -- when we bought it -- 1954. We put in the lawn, etc. The garage is down the side driveway in the back, not connected to the house. (I actually prefer that, although, yes, in bad weather it's not as convenient.) HUGE back yard. ("They don't build 'em like this any more." How much does that date me?)

https://www.zillow.com/homedetails/9569-Dixie-Ln-Dallas-TX-75228/26816166_zpid/

https://www.bing.com/search?q=9569+dixie+ln+dallas+texas+75228&qs=SC&pq=9569+dixie+lane&sc=1-15&cvid=AB0F6680F9AB48FE8A7F98BCBE2D0103&FORM=QBLH&sp=1

@apanamamama

Hi @theweaselswife, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Pimp Your Post Thursday is a live curation show where you get to know others and they you. You can promote your post or someone you think needs more notice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64