THE HATEFUL TRUTH ABOUT PROCRASTINATION

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Introduction

I chose this title "the hateful truth" because of the reality and how I feel about procrastination.
Ones ability to overcome procrastination is directly proportional to his probability of achieving greater success. The truth is plain and I bet no one will dare to disprove this logic. For it will only feel like you are trying to disprove your very own existence.
bulb-2029707_1280.png
Source
Meaning of Procrastination

Wikipedia defines procrastination as avoidance of doing a task that needs to be accomplished. Every human has a level of procrastination in him or her. I personally hate being late for class and as such i mostly get to the class at exactly or slightly past 8:00 am which is the reporting time. Often at times, i read post or try to write an article before leaving for class. I put in tasks to keep me busy and prepare hurriedly for class when i am left with 30 mins to 8:00 am. I call this procrastination and one will argue as to what am i procrastinating. I have grown to realise that, i could actual schedule my hours better and get to campus much earlier and do with my post but i always give an excuse as to not make it. I know its something i have to work on but it seems so difficult. Let me not talk anymore about my personal experience and tackle this issue objectively.

Everyone is actually a procrastinator and you yourself know it. The difference between two individuals is when his alert system which pushes him to do work as he should sets in. With constant reminder, one learns to procrastinates less. I will not summarize procrastination as good or bad. As the approach to it is subjective. Today, i am telling you, you can get more done by not procrastinating. But to do that needs shear desire and self will. Its not a sprint but a marathon.

How to avoid Procrastination

calendar-1806776_1920.jpg
Source
The best therapy that i have seen is the mind and whatever you decide to do and willing to do, the mind can make it possible. All you have to do is to be conscious of it. Avoiding procrastination is like bathing. You have to constantly fight it day in day out till it becomes your habit. Even then, you have to make sure not to backslide. I prefer writing down a schedule and rewarding myself for successfully following it. Procrastination is neither good or bad. You can decide to weaponize it or get rid of it. It takes much difficulty to weaponize than to get rid of. Get rid of it and enjoy a much more sound life. Have a wonderful day.

Sort:  

I have also the same problem like that, thanks for sharing this info. But i think sometimes procrastination can be a good thing too, it depends on the situation though.

@cortexx, yeah I think it can be a good thing in moments where you are not sure about what you want.
@tj4real, really good post, thanks for sharing

Yes we need to use a system like https://Mondays.com to organize our work

we can also make our own system that works as mondays.com copy for steem

Very good

Ahah nice post mate ! Procrastination is hard to live with, it makes me anxious and always stressed. Instead of doing things I just spend my days thinking about it until I have no other choices...

There is a guy on Youtube explaining the difference between a normal mind and the mind of a procrastinator

o-WAITBUTWHY122-facebook.jpg

This is totally what's happens in my mind X)

You should have a look to the video, it is very funny and instructive !

Source :

I have watched it. It was very intuitive and hillarious. The monkey and the rational part of your brain. Every one should watch the video

Yeah mate !! I am still one looking for the rational part of my brain ! We'll make it one day.

Oh my Gosh. Thanks so much for this video. Really enlightening.

Your post is very helpful @tj4real
Thanks for sharing.
How have you been?

Thanks. Im feeling great. Its been a while. I hope everything is moving on great at your side

Procrastination is a real, serious problem many people suffer from, especially these days, when so many things are available to help us take our minds off what we really need to do.
Being a freelancer working from home (with a little kid and two cats and social media), I find myself many times distracted by other things, whether these are things that really need to be done at home (shopping for food, cooking, laundry, cleaning), at work (because I work on several projects at any given time, I'm more prone to distraction from within that is actually productive, yet it isn't), or simply find myself staring at the screen doing nothing (i.e. browsing social networks), because it's so easy.

There's no one way to fight it. You need determination, you need practice, and you need to get back on the horse every time you fall (which is about 10 times per hour). Because you have to. Otherwise deadlines will happen and/or you'll be late for an important meeting/event/class and/or you won't pick up the kid from kindergarten on time, etc. So this is a constant battle.
Thank you for sharing this post!

You're welcome to visit my profile, and follow if you like what you see there. I hope to keep in touch :-)

I see the spirit of doing something in early and clearly from you. will remain two sides of the money in a procrastination. but the best still do not delay. because we never know what happens in the future. Is that true @tj4real ?? I hope I am wrong, please correct me.
Vote you.. Excuse me to resteem. God Bless You.

And God bless you too . I really dont get your question. Check your punctuation to help me understand and better respond to your comment. Thanks

Before the question, I have statement, shortly I want to say "although procrastinate not good but someone will looked at from different sides. I agree with you that procrastinate not good because we dont know what happent in the future, if we get our duty, we have a chance for relax time or doing other duty, bu to someone in procrastinate, maybe not have a time and chance. I am sorry because My english not good, but I try to explain. Thanks

Very enlightening your post is. Brought me to the realization how I am so much in procrastination. I really need to help myself out of it. Thank you for sharing :))

The pleasure is all mine. We all need to be conscious of it for it can make and unmake you

This is great! I'd say procrastination is my biggest enemy of progress right now. Are you planning on doing a series of these?

i will continue with my take on values but not strictly on procrastination

Thank you!

Procrastination to me it like a disease when you dnt treat it ,it kills. or it cause a lot of damage if one does nt find the cure on time. Great post @tj4real it a great lesson i learnt from it also cos i was also a victim.

I share the same view with you. Procrastination is really a thief of time we all allow into our mind (home) and when it finds it way up there, it comfortably steals away our resources (not only time).
Great Post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67