Gratitude Day 22/62: Awake

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

I laid me down and slept; I awoke; for the Lord sustained me.
Psalm 3:5(KJV)

Waking up in the morning is the first miracle of the day. This morning I woke up with joy in my heart and praise on my lips. There is a whole lot to be worried about, the first message I got this morning was a friend sending me a bad news message on WhatsApp. Am I going to focus on the negatives? No sir! I have no space for negative emotions in my heart. My resolve is to stay happy and grateful for the things that are working and not focus on the things that are not working. I choose to be happy.

bed-3013209_1920.jpg
Source

Five years ago our security man, Papa Akpan slept at his duty post. He slept on a bench inside a small store with no door. We have always frowned at his tendency to sleep on his duties but we didn't know that he would doze into oblivion one day. He slept and just didn't wake up anymore in the morning time. He passed on to the great beyond. What was the cause of his death? No one really knew. There was no visible sign of physical struggle. He was perfectly healthy. As a matter of fact, he was too healthy. He was an old man who was agiler than many young lads. One day he chased down a teenager who burgled one of our neighbors in the middle of the night. The thief was 16years old, He was 50 years old. All we could do is wonder and guess why he died that way. Some said he died of heart attack but most of us believed his sister-in-law who said that it was his "village people". By "village people", I mean spiritual attack. There are many people who died like Papa Akpan.

Whenever you wake up, you should show gratitude to your maker. You should say a prayer of thanks for your life. You should be happy and you should be grateful.

Today I'm grateful that I slept and I woke up. I didn't just wake up, I am also awake to the events that are happening all around me. Bliss!


Special thanks to all those that participated in #gratitudeday21. Please if I failed to mention your name, do leave a comment below in the comment section.

@liltom
@omoyiwolabusayo
@esttyb
@hadassa
@victoriasarai17
@gledy81
@omoyiwolabusayo
@fadiji09
@fattybabe
@gloeze
@botefarm
@oredebby
@luckyspark
@hillaryoki
@mickyscofield
@julietisrael
@eunireal1
@oluwatobiloba



What is Gratitude Day?

Gratitudeday is all about being thankful for the things that are happening in your life. A lot of us go through life taking things for granted. The goal is to challenge you to make a blog post about something you are grateful for. It could be big or small. It doesn't matter. Little things matter. I'll be doing this for 62 days (62 is not a random number). It's not an endurance game, you can join in anytime you want and opt out anytime you want.

Every day is gratitude day.
@tojukaka

How to Participate in #GratitudeDay Challenge

Upvote my #gratitudeday post
Resteem my #gratitudeday post(not compulsory)
Write a post about anything you are grateful for.
Use the tag #gratitudeday22

Your post should be done within 24hrs of the making of this post so as to get curated.**

Use the tag #gratitudeday22 if you want me to find your post easily.

You may drop the link to your post in the comments below.

This is What I Will Do if you participate in Gratitude Day Challenge.
I'll upvote your post
I'll note your name in my spreadsheet, that you qualify for the grand prize of 62SBD. The grand prize is now unknown.


Thank you very much.

Sort:  

What a joy to see you express yourself that way! I firmly believe that every awakening is a miracle of God every day in us and that he has great purposes in our Lives :)

@tojukaka Gratitude day may be ful of joy and happiness and it may increase the deep love of heart.

This is worth been grateful for
The gift of life means a lot to me
I am always grateful everytime I see anothee breaking of the day.
May the soul of Papa Akpan RIP

Life is for the living. Thank God I am alive to His glory. Thank you @tojukaka for reminding us about the gift of life. I am full of gratitude.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Oh, poor old papa Apkan. I love your writing skills. You're so good with the pen.

However, I just feel that sometimes we should get rid of that mentality of thanking God only what 'what he has done'. That's not proper. We should also learn to THANK GOD JUST FOR WHO HE IS. Thank him for being God irrespective of what he has or has not done.

Nice reading from you.

@Tojukaka thanks for this. I am always happy showing gratitude to my God for keeping me till now. Here is my gratitude day 22

https://steemit.com/gratitudeday22/@omoyiwolabusayo/gratitude-day-22-62-thank-god-for-my-friends-though-i-really-missed-them

We once had a guard long time ago,
he was getting old,
dad has to let him go
Gentle, easy as a dove
Agile, strong like a wolf

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60