Kentucky City Lets People Pay Parking Tickets With Canned Goods for the Needy

in #busy6 years ago

canned.jpg

Racking up those parking tickets? If you live in Lexington, Kentucky, you can help feed the needy with your violations.

A typical parking ticket in Lexington costs around $15, now violators can donate 14-15 cans of food, to their local food bank, to pay their fine. If the ticket is more expensive, the city will simply take more cans.

In 2015, the initiative took in roughly 6,200 cans for over 600 citations, about $14,000 worth of food. The program has collected around 16,000 meals, which equates to about 24,500 cans of food.

Sort:  

What a neat idea! I'd love for my town to do that, we have a lot of needy people here, and I help out whenever I can.....

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably.

I also run competitions for those making the world a better place. Check out this weeks reducing plastic competition here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72