1st Chapter: THE POWER OF UPVOTE

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

When i first joined this platform i used to think that every upvote had an equal value.
I was very wrong. I used to study posts and see how many upvotes everyone had, and then checking their monetary value.
I think it was on the second day that i figured out that number is not equal value at all.

Steemitupvote@steemitguide.png.cf.png

In fact i saw posts taking 1$ from just three upvotes while i was getting 0.01$ at 4 upvotes. It was then that i realized reputation and SP bring the value from nickels up to dollars. But it was just recently that i understood it was more to that. Vests are the ones that really matter.
(steemd.com will help you to find out how many vests you have. For example mine is www.steemd.com/@triplef )
But how are vests created? They are created mostly through upvotes. Similar to upvotes value depending on who is upvoting you, that will also determine the growth of your reputation as well as your vests. If you think you can grow your reputation, power growth and income only through your posts upvotes, you are wrong.
Another great chance to grow them all is comments. If you comment regularly someone will certainly upvote some of your comments, sometimes giving you values worth in $! You heard it right. But what's in it for them to give your comment such a high value you may ask. CURATION is one response. It is very important. It gives you back part of the revenue invested whether in a post or in a comment.
To be honest i haven't gained so much yet on this platform, but in overall profit, i gained more from comments than from posts. You can always buy Steem Power and therefore vests. That is the easiest way. I chose the hard way to build it up, so that i will learn the system better.
Thank you for your time in reading my article and please send me your suggestions through your comments. This is a unique series of posts which are only my apprehension of steemit. Therefore i need suggestions to know how much of this is accurate.
My name here is @triplef .
Have a great Sunday.

(P.S. photo was downloaded from the internet, therefore i have no rights to it. I am just using it to share my message)

Sort:  

I am wondering why you chose to format your post like this :D

However, I enjoyed this post. It has some valuable info on it. If you're looking for a detailed post on vests and sp then scroll through my blog or @energyaddict22, very valuable posts on SP.

All the best!

Also, always remeber to source your images. It makes a very huge difference.

Thank you so much. I will go through your posts asap. The reason the format is like this, is that almost all of my posts are made through mobile. I am always on the move, except after midnight, when i translate. That's why it's not easy to prepare images. I do understand what you mean. I am just a newbie, less than a month, so feel free to suggest me something, according to my post. There's no doubt i will read you post too and will upvote it, if it's less than 1 week old. From @triplef

Hi @triplef. Happy to see that you're trying to understand how the Steemit world works. There is a lot to learn on here. I know you've met @davemccoy and @bashadow and have great mentors to guide you. (I am many many comments behind and have not had a chance to get back to any of your comments.)

Many come on here as non-bloggers and have to learn the markdown language to make their posts look pleasing to the eye.

Some easy markdown codes to make your post friendly-looking:

Divide your paragraphs into sections by using: <br>

Create Headers for each paragraph topic, like Vests. You can use:
# <center>Insert Text Here</center>

It will look like this:

Vests


Keep on writing and have fun!

very good advice @beeyou... Its always nice to see the teacher show up and give a helping hand! Great job :)

Very good helping hand indeed. I definitely have to try this. The only issue is that my free time went from bad to worse, and now hell. One more question:
Can headers be put by mobile, or the commands work only on PC? Thank you so much for explaining me this. We are missing you on the platform, but family comes first. Great performance by you overall.

To be honest i haven't gained so much yet on this platform, but in overall profit, i gained more from comments than from posts.

This will be true until you are a star here. I recommend everyone learn how to engage and make many comments, that is where you will build the fastest, plus make some damn good friends! ;)

I learned this only after three weeks here. But you know how they say, 'better late than ever'. I learned that comments can get you far more friends than upvotes do. I just hope we can connect to newcomers while they just get on steemit so that that they ill realize that since the beginning. Thank you Dave, for the great words. I have to learn bold, header, etc

you will get those things down... it is really easy... for instance, if you want to bold a sentence, then just put a pound sign in front of the sentence with a space.

this will make it bold (you will see this)

but I put it like this (no parenthesis):

(#)(space)this will make it bold

And you are a quick learner... ohhh one more thing, the more # signs the smaller your font will go... so you can do 1 # or ## or ###### ... from 1 to 6 ;)

I did see your response to @elsiekjay, when you have time, you should edit your post and clean up the formatting, formatting is one of the things that people see first, a lot of people will just pass by poorly formatted content because it is to difficult to read. And it is very important to put that source link to any images you use. That should also be fixed in an edit.

If you can make the post look a little more professionally done I will be happy to resteem it, however in it's current condition, I am not willing to. Perception by people is 90% of winning, the dress for success mentality is still out there and a thing that people have a hard time ignoring. Who appears more successful, a guy in a suit and tie, or a bum, a woman in a nice dress, or a woman dressed like a hooker. People still judge books by the cover.

Done changing them both. How do you think they are now? Formatting is part of my translation job that's why i am used to it, but i am taking your advice in here. I am glad that you are showing what's not going well. That is exactly what i want to hear. I perfectly understand what you want to say. Can you please review it again, and tell me if it's ok or still missing something?

A pretty long blurb of words, but better than it was, just need to break it up into smaller chunks.
you have. For example here is where I would put one break start "For example" as a new paragraph with a line break.

The next line break I would do is here you are wrong. Another great chance start 'Another great... on a new line.

Next place **in a comment. To be honest i ** start To be on a new line.

last line system better. Thank you start Thank you on a new line.

The blank line makes it a little easier on the readers eyes, and helps prevent them missing something. I know it kind of sounds kind of petty, but if you take a screenshot, then make the changes and compare the two, I think you will see how much easier the blank line one is easier to read. Or just imagine if everything I just typed had no line breaks how hard it would be to read.

Most people try to go with three or four sentences at most in a paragraph when presenting things on line, it just makes it so much easier to read.

I followed all of your instructions. What do you think about bullets, for example:

  • This is done...

Is that a good thing to have on important topics? Its great getting so much help. To be honest this is my first blog, so i do believe i have tons of stuff to learn on every post i make. And that is one of the reasons i ask for comments.
Thank you so much for your walkthrough. I will surely be more careful on comments and even posts from now on. Have a great week ahead.
From @triplef

I actually like the use of bullets for pointing out short list and highlighting points or areas, it helps to also break up the monotony of a blog post, and they provide a natural indent to add to the highlighting of the information.

You still need a carrier return to make the line break to insert a blank line. Or you could use the <p> code at the end of each paragraph to insert a line. a couple of different ways to get a blank line.

highlighting of the information.<p> You still need a carrier return to make the line break to insert a blankDo you see the difference? The stuff in the highlighted section is how it looks with the code and no blank line.

Got to go and eat. Will stop back later.

Thanks a lot for helping. Enjoy your meal.

Sorry it took so long to get over here. I sometimes don't get much Steemit time on the weekends.
Looks like you are getting some great advice. Remember to link to your picture source. With format just keep on practicing. I sometimes use a cheat sheet so I can remember.
Over all it looks like you post often and choose interesting topics. I need to get better at that myself.

Thank you for your suggestions. How do i link the picture? You mean uploading the pic somewhere and then use the link for the picture inclusion in the post? I prepare my post on a note document, make the appropriate changes and then post it here with copy-paste. I think i improved on format but i am using only mobile, so it ain't easy. Have a great week

Ok heres the thing you can't just use anyones pic without permission. and with permission you have to give them credit. There are places you can get pics that are free to use. If you do that you should say where you got it and link back to the site.
I just use my own pics so I don't have any places to share with you.

Ok but how is it possible then that these pics are downloadable and they have no rights sealed to them? Where are these pics, free to use? Anyhow, i never use pics which have rights. You can see all of my posts, pics have nothing written into them. It's just image. But i get the point. Will use my pics, better not risk being flagged. Thank you for the suggestion.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Congratulations @triplef! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I just read your post and I wish to thank you for sharing your observations so all of us newbies can learn. I have just started this journey into Steemit and there are many things to learn to be successful. This post is a good example of how we need to learn the rules and characteristics of the Steemit ecosystem to be successful.
Thank you for sharing this information.@shortsegments

Thank you @shortsegments . I am nothing but a newbie myself. This information is just my tiny understanding of how steemit works. I have just started the journey myself with only one month in. Have a great weekend

I am also new. We will learn about Steemit together.

Did you buy steemit? Your account is very powerful. I wish my upvote had value too

Yes I buy Steem when I can and I recently bought SP..

That's great. I decided not to. Will grow from scratch

That is admirable. I think you are writing your blog in a good spirit, so I think you will be successful.
Please read my new post, I have added more pictures and used more Markdown capabilities to make it more appealing. https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@shortsegments/it-is-a-new-day-for-masternodes-the-apollon-point-and-click-masternode

I am not sure i will be successful. I am just giving all i have got hoping that it will count something in the long terms.
Just read your post and upvoted you (although my upvote doesn't add 0.01$ yet) but its not like i understand that much. It's rather complicated for me. I get some part of it but then get stuck on the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71