Lessons in Decentralization - Re: Ned's Bridge

in #busy5 years ago

Welp, I just watched Ned and Andy on the Bridge

I learned some tough lessons

When a community pretends they are decentralized, but focuses on one development company to do

EVERYTHING.

Blockchain Development, Marketing, Business Direction, Content Management etc.

And If that company says.. Hey guys we've got this... Or at the very least sends mixed messages about it.

And one day, they say.. Hey we are broke and tired.

Everything we thought was coming, comes to a sudden halt.

It is our own fault and the very reason for decentralization.

I'm pretty new to crypto 2.5 years in. Watching Ned's talk made a lot of things real to me that have only been a concept before. At some point probably soon, I will laugh and consider this part of my education. Right now, I'm kind of pissed that I knew some of these things could come to haunt us, but I just pushed it aside and hoped it wouldn't.

Ouch.

I'm regrouping please don't offer platitudes in the comments.

@whatsup

Sort:  

@whatsup,
I still stay with faith on STEEMIT INC! Anyway, we should decentralized the ownership as well! Like you said, everything decentralized, but the control still centralized! Good point and yeah it should be decentralized as well!

Cheers~

"Right now, I'm kind of pissed that I knew some of these things could come to haunt us, but I just pushed it aside and hoped it wouldn't."

Which things?

It's pretty much impossible to decentralize the website hosting.

I think you are right on... this is supposed to be decentralized. I don't know what kind of chaos that will entail, but I think we all know Steemit hasn't delivered in the past year and was never run, at least to external impressions (which are supposed to mean everything) like a professional business. It's time to embrace everything STEEM and only treat Steemit as a branch of that, imho.

Yeah agreed. But even in that video he sent mixed messages about that.

And with them being such a large stakeholder it really is a problem.

Cryptos - manipulate up, manipulate down - If "we just sacked all the developers" doesn't do the trick, maybe "no SMT's" might do it - one way or another the price will be driven down further before Xmas, and I suspect this is all part of the plan!

I've been using other apps that are on Steem for months now. I still like steemit but that beta under the name was never reassuring. No blockchain should rely on one entity but many that are more successful than Steem at the moment do, so I'm not too concerned. This is a great time to sort out these problems, ready for the next big wave of interest in cryptocurrency.

A lot of those apps were and are counting on SMTs as a way to fund raise, create revenue and build their businesses around.

Yeah. Nothing has changed as far as the potential, but the slipping timelines are not ideal. Appics were ready the Steemfest before last.....

It does seem odd. I'm a bit flustered by it all.

There's more to the chain. As much bickering and crap that goes on here; we are far more United than other cryptos.

Well I consider it an ethical issue with our largest stakeholder to promise SMTs and to not deliver them. It was very obvious he has no plan. Now is not the time to take a break. Jeez, I am forgiving, I am willing to give the benefit of the doubt and have for some time. But that was a shit show and perhaps unforgivable to me.

He is was a random stakeholder or a large application developer, it wouldn't matter. But he controls a lof of stake and has the potential to control the witnesses as well.

If today didn't wake people up to centralization effects, I am not sure anything will. Which is good news as it will slow down the bleeding.

I have not been on the bridge, but seem people expect too much from them. SMT will become a mirage?

Posted using Partiko Android

I will get back to this once I have come up with a good platitude.

There is no way in hell I will have the kind of cool headedness, everything is going to be better no matter what approach you've displayed for months.

There is patience and there is patience.

If prices are low but the people at the top still behaved responsibly, then we can have patience but when they act like they've got their heads screwed backwards not once or twice but more, then the alarms must be sound and fire must be stoked into their butts.

I'm kind of pissed that I knew some of these things could come to haunt us, but I just pushed it aside and hoped it wouldn't.

WTF "hoped?"!

In 2018?

Jesus.

I'm saying all those same things to myself. So, yeah, I hear you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94