Make Steem Easy and Engaging!

in #busy5 years ago

image.png
We all have different gifts and it turns out that mine is to set a standard that others feel they can live up to. Oddly I like that.

The Content Evangelists can preach about Quality and how they hate memes and "low effort posts", that can be their thing. I want to seek engagement and connections instead.

Here are some things you can do on the site today:
Write a Story
Sing a Song
Post some Art or Photos
Explore a Topic
Seek support for a view or idea
Publish your Work
Share a discussion worthy articles
Engage with others from a certain Nation
Simply make some friends
Program an App
Get paid to Curate
Hunt Plagiarism and Scammy Posts
I'm sure there are many more things.

The Wisdom of The Crowd

Everyone can react to your actions by curating with up and down votes.

The crowd can upvote it if they like it, they can ignore it, or they can downvote it. After a week you get to keep the rewards. Some content and some rewards will naturally receive more engagement, more votes, more flags and more discussion.

In some cases that attention will come from what you write, but also attention comes from who you know and how many people "lay eyes" on the content. Visibility is a factor.

Our current UIs support different types of content and all of that content dumps into SteemIt.com, changing it from being our Proof of Concept into being kind of a Firehose of all content.

Most people did not come here to polish their writing skills or see what they retained from English Composition, however some did. There is room for both.

There might be things you can say and say well, that there just isn't an audience for. (yet) If you care about getting the votes and the interest, consider whether you are getting your content in the face of the correct audience.

You are free to move around the platform.

This post is a partial re-run..
https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatsup/another-unplanned-post-helping-others-by-keeping-it-casual

Sort:  

I'm in agreement with your assessment here about engagement being critical to the health of STEEM as a social media platform (and perhaps beyond). I'm also in agreement that content, and what causes someone to vote for it or interact with it is subjective and within the right of each individual to determine. Which means we have seen and will continue to see all kinds of content, long, short, original, quality or otherwise.

And while I also agree that people are free to do what they want on the platform with regards to all this, I would just add that value perception (once you get past the visibility issue) will ultimately be what dictates what gets rewarded and what doesn't. So, as long as people are putting up content without expecting that it will do anything, they'll be fine. If it happens, great, if it doesn't, well no worries there either.

Alas, though, that isn't reality when it comes to what we all post. Too many of us seem to think we should be rewarded for everything, regardless of effort, originality, timeliness, popularity, meaningfulness, etc. It's our expectation versus visibility and value perception that is out of whack, too, along with the unwarranted desire by some to make everyone else conform to a certain standard of content.

Exactly. Everyone has a chance to shine on the 'new steem', one that places engagement over content

I feel like I've been fighting this topic for 3 years. We still have those who want everyone to improve their writing skills. Sheesh.

I should write a post about how freaking spicy my lunch is today. I’m sweating here in my office.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Spicy lunch post sounds fine to me! Why not!

That's what makes Steemit so great everyone is welcome :)

Agreed and the end users can reward what they like. (at least a little)

I feel so much better being able to give a little with my votes. Liking forward to when i can give more :)

Just don't be a flat earther.

Fortunately, I am not.

lol, as it doesn't get run over by steamroller

People are starting to ask about #share2steem tag in my Instagram. Guess it started to pick up some attention from that part. On the other hand, working on my casual output of contents :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

The Wisdom of The Crowd

I hope you aren't trying to conflate the mob, to wisdom.....
That's an exercise in futility

I realize it is an ideal, but for me, I consider it "My Crowd". I get some auto votes. But then there are people who either vote on me or not... More often if they like what I write. I also get flagged from time to time. It doesn't last.

I'd never vote for you...
DOH!..

.... I've done it again!

Do you think if I use an avatar of Ursula Andress, I'll get more upvotes?

(words don't seem to be doing it for me ! lol)

Sometimes I write to make the audience will be interested but I think it's just me who have interest on it. No one notice by not upvoting it. That's why in my part I think I'll just have to write what I wanted to do, it's not for the audience but for myself. By this kind of mindset maybe it's far from being discourage of myself.

Posted using Partiko Android

up down up down?
Can we really achieving something there?

Do something interesting and worthwhile, that's the ticket :-)

Please elaborate , If no one following and supporting , can one grow?

Just a comment my friend, nothing more....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86