You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Choose a Martial Arts Academy

in #busy5 years ago

I have trained in a few of those and enjoyed all of them. The only one I stuck with long enough to progress significantly is Bjj.

Excellent advice for sure. If folks are looking to find a good Bjj school, just ask here. A good question is the lineage of the school. We will know if it is legit!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I actually have a second degree black belt in TKD. I have a purple belt in Vada Kempo and a purple belt in BJJ. The first MMA gym I trained at was not BJJ affiliated. It was under John Campatella from UFC 10 (he lost to Gary Goodridge) but was giving away like 6 inches in height and 100 pounds. Anyways he was a high school wrestler who trained Catch Wrestling and had a black belt in Vada Kempo. He established a gym based on his career fighting using Vada Kempo for belting and Catch Wrestling for grappling. When I fought my first MMA fight I was training there and won, however I never got a gold medal in a grappling tournament until I switched to BJJ. After training BJJ under Joseph Capizzi (Renzo Gracie black belt and IBJJF Worlds medalist), I went on a tear winning several gold medals.
I took Judo as a young child before TKD. I shopped around at other places and audited but found they were mostly junk. Kung Fu they stand awkwardly makes it do anything. Krav Maga is all "disarm the gun and poke him in the eye" In real life you would get shot and broken fingers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81