You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Modern Slavery in Cornwall, England

in #busy5 years ago

What a shame and ... I am shocked. I wouldn't believe it can happen IN ENGLAND! That's so bad.

I explore one of your links. Date seems to be a bit outdated (at least about Ukraine) but ... situation is very sad ((

Sort:  

Hi @zirochka, yeah the problem has not gone away since these links were published. In fact it has got much worse.

I know many people from Ukraine and they had all fled Ukraine for overseas countries over 10 years years ago.
They do go back to visit their families but would never return to live there?

I would assume that you would know better than me what is going on in Ukraine today.

Do you ever see news stories on slavery where you are?

Yes, yes and yes. Sometimes we have episodes about Ukrainians that got into slavery abroad. Most times they didn't know what is waiting for them.
Work migration happens more often though. Sometimes I think that a couple of millions from regions closer to Europe has moved to Europe, and those who left are too lazy.

My friends lives in London for many years, about 20 I think. They moved not in a legal way, I don't know details. And their son was very small and he lived in Ukraine with his granny. In about 5 years they came back to Ukraine with money (they earn good money, as for my country), and tried to invest them somewhere or start a bussiness. They missed their homeland, and family, and little son.
But they were so much disappointed with the reality that ... they spend all money for a possibility to go back to England, this time with their son, and they still live there and don't have any illusions.

It is a sorry state of affairs for those that have to leave family behind and then find themselves caught up in this kind of trap.

It is very common unfortunately. People try for a better life and get enslaved.

I'm happy to hear that your friend is reunited with his family and safe in London.

We must be alerted to this sick trade.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61974.94
ETH 3126.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77