Winter is coming...

in #butterfly5 years ago

broken wings.jpg

Walking around the other day, I spotted a flash of colour in the grass. On closer inspection, I saw it was just the wings left, the ants must have stripped the butterfly's body a day or two before I saw it. It's an African Monarch butterfly, a common sight here in South Africa but despite the name, they are also found in Asia and Southern Europe.

First posted here on my blog in WeKu

Sort:  

Last year I went to the butterfly exhibition. I remember that the most beautiful butterflies were from Africa and South America.

The warmer climates make insects big and beautiful

Ah! Life is so short for this butterfly!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Life is short for all of us

Yes .... very sorry that butterflies live so little ...

It's just a stage, really

Cool i never knew there was an African monarch. The coloring is very similar to the ones here in America.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I was surprised to see that you have one, too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64