Thursday is Butterfly Day Giveaway: Monarch Butterfly

in #butterflyday5 years ago

WHAT IS NEW? Thursday is Butterfly Day Giveaway! All of us butterfly lovers will now be able to admire each other's butterfly photos much easier by using my new tag #butterflyday. And you also have the chance to win Steem Basic Income Shares. For this first week there will only be one prize of 1-SBI Share. The more people who enter, the more prizes I will be able to give out each week. Your photos will not be judged. The prize winner will be chosen at random the day after payout.

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person.

2-All photos must be your own original work. No photos from the internet will be accepted.

3-Make your own butterfly post and use the tag #butterflyday as your first tag.

4-Drop the link to your post below.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterfly photos!

Monarch Butterfly

Monarchs are the most well-known butterflies in the USA. Adults feed on nectar of flowers and their caterpillars feed solely on milkweed plants. These plants have poisonous toxins which the caterpillars store in their bodies so when they become butterflies, their predators will not eat them. It is the coloring of monarch butterflies that actually tell their predators "Do not eat me because I do not taste good, and I am poisonous."

Millions of these remarkable butterflies will migrate in the fall to the Sierra Nevada Mountains in Mexico. They travel 3,000 miles to Mexico to spend the winter and will return to the USA the following summer. Most Monarchs live 2-6 weeks but the ones that migrate will live up to 9 months.

Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: defenders.org

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Good luck with your beautiful butterfly Thursday ... :-)

Thanks so much! Don't forget to get some butterfly photos while you are out and about. : )

Oh my goodness what lovely butterfly
photographs 💕 @whatisnew!!
Awesome new tags!! I will be looking
for some butterflies and bugs here!! :-)

Thanks so much @shasta!
I am so happy that you will be looking for the 2-B's there in your neck of the woods. : )

You got a 4.17% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @whatisnew! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Howdy there Butterfly! That is such interesting information about them, I knew the Monarchs migrated but I didn't know they were toxic to predators. who funds this contest anyway? Did you invent this contest?
Oh you're already using ocdb! unless this was a random upvote. never hurts to be lucky!
I'll give you a one cent vote. when people get hit by both ocdb and blocktrades(that happened to me this week for the first time) then they only deserve one cent from me. lol.

Thanks @janton! I am glad that you learned something from me. I love it when that happens. : )
Yes, I invented this contest and I fund it. I want to do one for bugs and insects too.

No! you can't afford to do anymore until you grow your account some more. With ocdb available to you then you need to concentrate on building. When you get bigger you can help even more people. Is that not logical?
Besides, if you don't have any steem or sdb how are you gonna fund ocdb?

Yes sir, that is very logical and I am doing that now.
Well, I will slowly build up to fund ocbd. Payout on the SBI share will not go out until after payout. Once I get that, I can do more with ocdb.

Howdy Butterfly! well you know I'm going to be watching now and harrassing you if you don't concentrate on growing your own account first. lol. With ocdb I'm just amazed at that site, all the people who are growing so fast are just using their service, I thought it was because they were popular. lol.
I don' t know if you've watched the queue page or not but lots of the big accounts are putting 100 steem a day into ocdb! every day. lol. The only problem is, it takes 25 or 30 steem and up to make any difference, that's what I've found.

I thought the same as you and when I looked at the queue page, I was in shock to see how much steem people were putting in. The only bot I have ever used was the one for Qurator members.

yeah you haven't used squat then. lol. I haven't either. I was with people who constantly critized them and thought they were horrible but I got tired of everyone flying past me and leaving me in the dust so I found out that they were all using ocdb so I said heck with it, I want to grow too. lol. Fastest way ever to increase in rep and sp.

Yeah, you look at that page and feel really broke don't you? I'm like...let's see..I have 5 steem! lol.
It's like my gosh! These people are putting a fortune into this! I hope they know what they're doing! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99