Is it worth buying refurbished products?

in #buy6 years ago

What is Refurbished ?

Refurbished refers to a reconditioned product. A refurbished product is usually cheaper than a new product because the most frequent reason is that the product has been returned to the store by a buyer for some reason.

I want to buy a computer. Is it a good idea to buy refurbished electronic equipment? What stores do you recommend? What should I consider to buy a reconditioned item?

If you have had any experience (good or bad) with the reconditioned products, leave me a comment at the bottom. It will be very useful for me.

I will reward your answers using the rewards system @steem-bounty.

If you are new to the concept check out how bounties work here with this link . There are tutorials in various languages.

Sort:  

@jmhb85 has set 0.500 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Hmmm. It really depends on the savings you will get by buying a refurbished product. As I was buying my Mac I also checked the refurbished products but saw I was only saving me about $50 USD (for a product worth $2000 USD). So my mind immediately turned to: "Better pay $50 USD more and you will get a really new one". Of course the products get checked and you basically get the same warranty and stuff but still I think it is not really worth it (at least with Apple products since you do not really save that much).

I would only buy refurbished products in stores that they have great technical support.

I have not bought any of this products because the stock is small, so it is difficult to find any that suits my requirements

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't purchased any refurbished product myself till date but I feel they are as good as new ones. I know that big brands sell their refurbished products and are accepted well by customers. They even come with warranty like new ones.
I would recommend you to check Apple's official page to see their collection of refurbished products- https://www.apple.com/shop/browse/home/specialdeals

Congratulations @jmhb85! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I would maybe buy refurbished computer only if it comes with warranty and if there is really huge discount, at least 60-70 per cent price reduction would be my target.

i used some refurbished graphic cards for mining. all cards just dead in 2 month.

I'm a fan of buying new goods but then, it's mostly because I want to be the one to peel off the wrapper

My laptop isn't new and it's serving me well. But then, I don't expect it to serve me as long as a new one would.

Refurbished goods are good and can save you some cash, especially when you have your sights on expensive gadgets like a mac book.

Otherwise, I would recommend you go for new products. They've got warranty on them and (should) serve you better and longer

I would buy refurbished products like furnitures but not electronic gadgets like computers. That is because if the furniture breaks down, there is bigger chance of having that repaired. However for electronic gadgets, the possibility of it ending as scrap is bigger unless it comes with at least a reduced warranty. If there is no warrantyat all, I will not gamble my money.

I haven't bought refurbished computer but I coordinated a sale of bulk of it after our PC refresh program in one of my former employments. When I asked the buyer as to how they are going to collect their money back, they said they will take the parts and come up with something new instead of cleaning up the old ones and trying to repair them. They said they usually make more sales that way.

Yes it is worth it. I have bought a refurbished HP Stream when they first came out from ebay for a total of about $150. They were being sold for $349 + taxes at retail stores at the time. It worked great. I was tempted to buy a half dozen of them to resell but ultimately decided against it. The person I bought it from was listed as an official refurbished seller and sold laptops that were returns or has small imperfections that you or I wouldn't notice. Of course there is always the chance you buy a dud .... luckily ebay has protection for such a thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66