Give Me A Call :) ~ Yesteryear

in #bwphotocontest6 years ago

Have you ever seen a phone like this? I have. Actually this is mine :)

This was once my grandparent's property. Actually, both my grandparents had one back in the day. I still remember how my grandfather rotated that tiny little handle or crank, I don't even know how to all it. English is not my first language, so be gentle with me :) So my grandfather rotated that handle, the operator picked up the phone, my grandfather told her the address where he wanted to call and was told to wait for the call. Then after some time the phone rang and the operator told him he can speak now. This is how it worked. As you can see there's no dial here, not numbers, no buttons.

At first in small villages there were no telephone numbers, you had to tell the actual address, later they gave you a number which was your village name and a number.

It was a very cumbersome and nerve wrecking process. Sometimes you had to wait an hour or so. The operator noted your order on a paper, sometimes the lines were busy, sometimes they forgot about your order or your order got lost. The operator could listen to every word you said and sometimes didn't end the call when you did and charged more than they should.

DSCN2909a1.jpg

I've been planning to post this photo for a while but was waiting for the right moment. Now @daveks is running the B&W Photo Contest and this week's theme is ~ Yesteryear. Read more about it here. This is my first entry. I used a Nikon Coolpix A100.

Sort:  

This is an oldie. :)

It is indeed :)

De jó. Ilyennel még nem találkoztam. Szeretem a régi dolgokat. Nekünk csak egy régi piros tárcsázós pihen a szekrénybe. Szerintem ha megmutatnám a szomszédom kis unokáinak, biztos rácsodálkoznának.

Na végre valaki értékeli. A tárcsás már nincs meg, de van egy szövetes râdió.

That is so cool! I have never seen one like that!

It's a great piece of history. And it's extremely heavy too :)

Awwww... that's so cool... I loved your description of the process too! Lol...
Good luck for the contest! :)

I'm glad you liked it and thank you! I don't think I have a chance but who knows?

So cool!!! I never saw one like that before!

Yeah, not many people have. Thanks for the reblog Luz!

Never seen exactly as such. My colleague in the office decided once to change his landline phone with vintage one, but the connection was awful. It has dials but was worth for decoration mainly. So, now he is back to the modern technology. :-)
But yours is a real treasure.

I found this at my aunt's, she wanted to get rid of it and I put my hand on it. This will worth something in the future :)
I also like old and stylish photos but those are not compatible with our landlines any more :)

I love old phones. Yours is definitely a classic. And the fact it has family history, even MORE of a wonder. Love how you had to wait for a call back. Wouldn't THAT drive everyone batty today. Instant is the new order of things. Very nice photo too. I love BW.

Thank you, I'm glad you like it 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93