Historic Comet Hale-Bopp

in #bwphotocontest6 years ago (edited)

To say it was magnificent would be putting it mildly, for me the experience of observing and photographing Comet Hale-Bobb amidst the wondrous landscapes of Sedona Arizona USA was the adventure of a lifetime. I was able to capture images at numerous locations during the latter two weeks of April 1997. The next return date for comet HB will be the year 4385 AD.

hb city lights 7x10 bw.jpg

I used a Pentax 35-mm single lens reflex camera with a 50-mm 2.0 fixed lens and Kodak Royal Gold 1000 speed film.
This image is being entered in daveks bw photo contest themed "night shots"

Sort:  

4385 AD! That means comet HB will return after 4388 years later. I have learnt a great astrological information. Anyway it was a great moments and we haven't all a good luck to see this moment.

Actually the Comet will return 2370 years from now, in the year 4388 AD. 2018+2370=4388
I'm glad you enjoyed this special moment.

wow what a great moment

Indeed a great moment, thanks for saying so!

Very beautiful photos!

Thanks for the nice compliment!

very nice photography
great post

Nice. I would have loved to have seen it but I think we did not have clear skys .

It's unfortunate you had clouds, we had perfect cloudless nights for most of and the best parts of the event. And to top it off just enough moonlight to show the landscape's with color. Thanks for checking it out!
I will release more of these shots in the future.

I was only 17 at the time so my photo would not have been the best; but it would have been nice to see it ! I remember watching Haleys comet in 1986 with my Dad and being amazed at it .

The next return date for comet HB will be the year 4385 AD.

Dang.. I don't think I'll be around for that one.. Lol.. Unless some kind of new technology comes out that helps people live longer. Glad I got to see this one though! It was pretty fascinating how much it changed things around here. It really helped turn you in the direction of photography and as a result me as well. Pretty neat how something so far away can influence our lives here so much. Interesting to think about. And great shot! I like the color one more, but still a pretty powerful one either way!

It's quite interesting to think about that faraway influence, its great and a powerful stellar thought!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01