Tassie Tassie Tassie

in #bwphotocontest7 years ago (edited)

As I prepare for my trip to Tasmania, I can't help but get excited (even more than I already am) as I look through photos from my first trip in 2015.

IMG_7233.jpg

I vividly remember being disappointed as my plane descended into Launceston airport. Everything was flat. Having just come from the Southern Alps of New Zealand, this wasn't the sight I was expecting to see. But my disappointment quickly faded as I explored the quaint city of Launceston. I immediately fell in love with the cafes, boutique shops and charming old buildings. For those who know me well, I'm not much of a city person. I'd much prefer spending time in nature.

I spent the next few days exploring Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park as I waited for my friend, Brianna, to join me on this adventure.

On the day she arrives, I've set my alarm at some ungodly hour to go chasing sunrise before I fetch her at the airport in the afternoon. I woke up so confused as it was still pitched dark. It turns out my alarm went off an hour earlier than I had intended to wake up. (I think my phone didn't automatically update the time when I arrived in Tassie) Having had only few hours of sleep the last few nights and really tired from all the hikes the last few days, I was a lil annoyed I had lost an hour of sleep. I've barely recovered from doing a Great Walk in the Southern Alps and a few other walks just a week prior - but I will save this for another post.

At this point, there were two options: go back to bed and get that extra hour of sleep, which will probably end up being few hours thus missing the sunrise; or just go and drive aimlessly chasing sunrise. I went for the latter. I was already awake, so why not?

IMG_7193.jpg

Cold and half asleep, I jumped in my car and drove. Aimlessly. With no set destination. Not long into the drive, I came across this beautiful lake. So beautiful I completely forgot I was freezing. The fog hovering over the lake gave the morning that mystical vibe. As the sun was rising, the sky turned red like it was on fire. I couldn't be happier to be where I was witnessing yet another glorious sunrise. I will never forget this one and definitely looking forward to seeing more of this when I return in a week.

IMG_7190.jpg

I love colors, sunrises, sunsets and reflections. I reckon the colored version of these photos are great. So, why black and white you ask. I don't really work much with B&W and I thought I'd expand my horizon by giving it a try.

If you like this post or have any B&W tips please let me know by commenting below. If you want to see the colored version let me know as well. I will be writing more about this trip and can include them in it.

All photos taken with a Canon EOS Rebel T3i.

Thank you for stopping by. Happy reading :)

xx
jhen

steemitfamilyph.jpg
I am a part of @steemitfamilyph. Join us! Follow - Upvote - Resteem - Comment
Be a member on our Facebook page -- Click this Link

Sort:  

Cant believe you remember the details of your trip. Nice post.

I'll never forget this one...especially waking up so confused. Haha! The sunrise was very memorable though. Whenever I talk about Tassie, this particular day always comes up. LOL @jon24jon24

Great pics! Hope you'll upload the colored version. 😊

Thanks @klborillo :) I'll definitely do another write up about Tasmania

Looking forward for the colored photos ate. 🙂

Will do another write up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73