B&W Photo Contest - MACRO

in #bwphotocontest7 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone,

First thank you for taking time to look at these photos.

I hope that you find something to enjoy and will appreciate any comments or helpful hints. I have always found black and white intriguing and have enjoyed working with it's simplicity and nuance. I love color too. I have been seeing many quality photos being posted so have spent all day trying to up my game and seeing what I can come up with too.

This first photo is a variegated double tulip. I am very pleasantly surprised and excited by the image in comparison to the color image; it's far more dramatic and totally different in the B & W. As @daveks posted recently: "Color is everything, Black and White is more." - Dominic Rouse. The photo was taken in the Brooklyn Botanical Garden.

IMG_2161bw.jpg

The second was taken in Ecuador and is one of those flowers that I have never seen before and which I've seen a lot while in Ecuador. Not that I saw a lot of these particular flowers, there are just so a majority of flowers that I had never seen before. Different places and different climates. Varies a lot with changes of elevation too. It gives me the sense of space and also peering into water at the same time.

IMG_1163.jpg

This last photo, again from the Brooklyn Botanical Garden, is of another tulip, but this time with variegated leaves. I've been experimenting with using the negative images which gives at times a a whole other graphic quality.

IMG_2182i.jpg

Camera: Canon, Powershot, 30x lens. Sadly the camera is now defunct after getting inundated by a too big wave that reached far up a beach one day when I wasn't looking. Live and learn, prepare for the unexpected.

A shout out to @pappajohn for sponsoring the contest and involving so many people and themes and @daveks. One can find the contest details here.

I'm very much a newbie on Steemit but enjoying getting to know my way around. I've been posting some more of my photos here. I invite you to stop by and take a look .

Thanks,
John Congdon

Love is the only flower that grows and blossoms without the aid of the seasons. --Khalil Gibran

Sort:  

Amazing and high quality pictures :) Thanks for posting.

Thanks for stopping by!

The first one is really great!

Thanks, glad you like it!

Absolutely. I'm not a big flower-lover, but I do like B&W and heavy contrasts...and in this one the dramatic effect is just great! 👍

They are all nice but the first tulip shot is outstanding.

Agree, thanks old guy. Have another of those tulips coming.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 68321.07
ETH 3570.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18