Entry for the Steemit Writing Contest by #bycolemancontest - The perfect slice of Pizza!

in #bycolemancontest6 years ago (edited)

The Perfect Slice of Pizza
200.jpg
My first encounter with the love of my life was at the age of eight in UAE. It was at a pizza chain that I had my first slice and I knew this commitment was for life. Margherita has always been my flavour of choice. Despite being just bread, tomato sauce and cheese, this is a tough combination to get right and can be easily ruined. At some point between tasting “Good” pizzas and “Beggars can’t be choosers” pizzas, I finally came to a realization. This can’t be it! I can’t die eating mediocre pizza! I had to go to the place where pizza was conceived and taste the perfect slice; I had to go to NAPLES (Ta Da Daaaaa).
Turns out, exactly 100 years before I was born (well 13 days before my birthday), in the year 1889 on the 11th of June, Raffaele Esposito made the first Pizza Drum Roll the “Pizza Margherita.” This couldnt simply be a coincidence, all signs led to Italy!!. But, being born in an Indian family meant a trip to motherland was more important than a trip to dreamland. So finally at the age of 28 after crossing the hurdles of education, marriage (the two must Do’s for an Indian Girl) and job (an optional Do), I was able to save just enough for a trip to Rome and Naples. And thus the planning for an epic solo dream trip began.
I decided to spend about four days in Rome and two days in Naples. When in Italy, it is best to walk around than take public transport; you never know where you will come across a building or site with some historic value. Getting lost is the best thing to do if you have the time. I booked free walking tours on all four days at Rome in order to explore the historical sites within the city as well as the Vatican. I was lucky enough to find a hostel right at the centre of the city which made travelling to meeting points easy. On the fifth morning, I was to catch a train to Naples and from there visit the historical site of Pompeii, a city buried under ash after a catastrophic volcanic eruption. An entire day would go there, and so I left the best for last. The oldest and most famous pizzeria in Naples is L’Antica Pizzeria Port’Alba. The Margheritas here are made by the best pizza makers, in wood fire ovens lined with lava rocks of Mount Vesuvius (can you imagine!!). From here, satisfied I would head back to India. I could almost taste the cheesy goodness at this point!
The funny thing about applying a visa to Europe is that you need to book your flights, stay etc. before actually getting a visa. Being my first experience at this, I booked cheap non-refundable tickets five months before the trip (what an Idiot - this is what over confidence does)along with rooms that had a one week cancellation period.
Less than a week before my travel, my visa got rejected, the reason for rejection “motive for travel not justified”. I applied for a tourist visa for crying out loud!! What more motive do you people need!! I lost a huge chuck of money by the way. The one I worked 15 hours a day to earn with two jobs, and not to mention the broken and shattered into hundred pieces Heart, which cannot be valued with money. As I sat devastated, crying and chewing on rubbery pizza, I decide this trip will happen, if not today then someday before I die. So until then “Hail Indian Margherita! The rubbery goodness”.

Sort:  

I have lived around the world and while american Cuisine is usually gastly and unrefined they have perfected the pizza. The is no better pizza than American pizza . I have lived in italy, no one beats Italian pasta but when it comes to pizza American Italian immigrants took it to the next level. So if You are looking for the perfect slice, to New York your pilgrimage must take you, not Rome . Italian pizza is ok but vastly underwhelming fate saved you from disappointment.

Oooooo!!!! Interesting, any specific place I should add to my list where I can try these pizzas you speak off? A restaurant or joint?

It has been 7 years that I have been to New york last so sadly I have no specific place but once you are there ask some locals. You will be amazed there is nothing like it. I am Vegan now because of ethical reasons so my pizzas are just a bit sadder now as vegan cheese is just not good for things like pizza yet. But for those who are not New York is the place to go (City not state)

I am drooling already! Thanks alot. I will however visit Italy as I am a history buff too. Making a trip to Greece, italy, France and Germany for the history part of it mostly next year. The problem is our currency value is very low in comparison to dollars and Euros. I will have to work and save an entire year to travel. I am adding places to my list.

Let us hope you will make some nice crypto to bolster our funds :)

Don't think I will make any. I have lost hope. I just post now because I want to. And meet people like you. I have made some great friends so far. If I click here good, else it's ok. I am getting a new place to add to my travel list from the travel section, I get to showcase my writing and read some really good stuff. I am a happy girl.

Glad you are making friends and yes it can get really frustrating to work hours on a piece and no one reads it then see that someone steals something off the net and get a lot of exposure :( but I am hoping that something will be done about it soon...

Yes I wrote a rant on it, read it if u have time. After posting the rant I realized you need to be famous for someone to actually read your rant 😂 and I was right.

If I send you a pizza will you send me a puri bhaji in exchange?
It was a funny story and it made me smile, I'm sorry you lost your money, though

Yes I will!! As long as we don't have upset stomachs post consuming the said items!! I am doing my best to make light of the situation!! I am so glad u like it!!

Good piece of writing. I have read and evaluated it 👍.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66214.90
ETH 2997.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73