MOST WONDERFUL TIME OF THE YEAR I'M SURE

in #c5 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20181219-052657.jpg

It's not breaking news that mental health goes nuts at Christmas. Seasonal affective disorder. Excessive drinking. Stressful present buying. Awkward family obligation. On top of your original diagnosis, no suprise it can turn into a bit of a shit show.

For the past few years, I've always had a breakdown around Christmas time. I've had to take time off work in two different jobs (which is really hard when everyone thinks you just don't wanna work new years eve) and either gone so manic I did so many weeks in advance fiddly handmade gifts or I went the gift card/supermarket section last minute route.

My small family still gets together for Christmas. My mum, dad, two bros, grandma and schizo uncle. There's no kids yet and the line up changes some years.

My breakdown usually manifests a few weeks before in a bit of a panic that I haven't done anything with my life this year. Lucky me my birthday is in 6 months so I've got the same breakdown material but twice a year.

But, I feel (GOD FORBID NOT ON TOP OF THINGS) alright. This year has been such a bloody rollercoaster i.e material for future life therapy - I'm just feeling a bit reflective, rather than destructive. Not exactly peaceful.. but dealing with it.

I know I haven't posted in forever, and this post is off topic and a bit ego based, but just wanted to say a big MERRY CHRISTMAS, wish you all mental health you can live with, and a happy same life with the steps to be the best you!

xxxxxxxx

giphy.gif

Sort:  

The holidays are tough for many people I agree. I can't say I really have that kinda issues but I get that others do, family isn't always like its made out to be in all those holiday movies.

I'm a bit of a workaholic and so this time of year is just slow and im like oh well, just keep at it I guess, make that money and so I dont have to be a broke bitch in January. So i feel you on the end of year freak out of not having done anything, even if I do hit some goals im bummed that I did not hit all of them, sigh!

All the best during this season and hope 2019 will be a winner for you

Peaks and troughs my friend, everyone has different jobs and different families so unless literally everyone you know is a primary teacher.. Christmas is over.

I kid, the best to you and everything you do! Xxxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67