City 2 Surf Complete

in #c2s6 years ago

received_2195211587378185.jpeg
Well what an up and down journey this has been over the last month or so. Last time I wrote I mentioned how sick I had been and had only just gotten back into a jam packed training program to try and make up for lost time. Well this proved to be a silly decision as I ended up with an over training injury in my upper left leg. I was unable to walk properly let alone run on it. I basically had to sit out the last 2 weeks up until today and just rest it as best I could then just go out today and see what I could do with it.
As you might remember I was originally aiming for a sub 70 minute run which means I would have had to run at an average of less than 5 minutes per km over the 14km. Naturally I thought I was kidding myself to even beat 80 minutes with my horrendous preparation and still carrying the injury into the run to a certain degree. My leg was heavily strapped by my physio to give me every chance I could possibly have and it did help a lot.
So what was the final result you ask? Well I still to this moment cannot explain how I actually pulled it off but I came across the finish line in a time of 1:08:49 (68minutes 49 seconds). The leg just held up, although I'm feeling it now, and I ran smart. I conserved, conserved, conserved at the start and then as I felt more and more confident I was able to slowly open the throttle up a bit, especially once I got heart break hill out of the way. I am absolutely ecstatic with my result and can't wait to give this another crack next year. Hopefully with a successful preparation!
20180812_100028.jpg
received_277807249487017.jpegreceived_2199494303662405.jpeg

Sort:  

yeh me names @lasertx3 and i run.... lolz. good work mate, big effort, big reward, live free or die hard ;)

Run or die ;) You should get into it mate. Push those pain barriers ;) who knows it might do you some good!

lolz, yeah nah mate, my surgeon said if i take it easy with my spine it will be maybe 20-25 yrs before i need a fusion, if i keep doing what i was doing pre injury (spartan, kayaking, bushwalks, etc.) i will only last about 10 years max before needing a fusion.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lasertx3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99