Cabin time and bread in a skillet

in #cabin6 years ago

There isn't much that can compete with a trip to our off grid cabin.

My hubby was home for a few days last week and we have an endless list of things that need to be done, but this weekend I just stopped and said enough. Life has to be more than all the must-do and have-not. So we packed up for a day at the cabin, he got his rifle and I got a couple of books and yarn so that I could start knitting socks. We got up at 5.30 and drove to the cabin. He dropped me off at the cabin and went hunting. I got some alone-time enjoying the silence and he got a chance to hunt. Sadly enough, we had a nasty wind disturb just about every creature in the forrest, but we had a great day anyway. I got to try the sofa bed we brought up earlier this summer. I really couldn't complain sitting inside the cabin, covered in a bunch of blankets with some coffee and a new knit in my lap.

He came back after a couple of hours and we spent the rest of the day around the cabin, cleaning up and rearranging building materials. We haven't had a chance to finish the cabin yet, but we got our wood stove up there so now we just need to finish the last bits of the interior walls and roof so that we can install the stove. Once that is done we can start spending more time there even if the weather is cold and nasty. Our goal is to get that done before the snow, but I wouldn't bet on it.

I also tried something new this time, I made bread in a skillet on the open fire.

We use this recipe to make pizza, but this time I made it the evening before and kept it cold over night. The recipe is actually for scones and this is only half of the original recipe.

4 decilitre flour
2 tsp baking powder
0,5 tsp salt
50 grams butter
1,5 decilitre milk

Mix the dry ingredients, add butter and work it in with a fork or use a food processer. Add milk and mix to a dough. Knead it to a ball and put in a container. Use more flour if needed to knead it. If it's going to be stored more than a couple of hours I cover it with some plastic wrap to keep it from drying in the container. I heated up a skillet and used 1/5 of the dough and gave it a quick kneading between my hands before shaping it into a flat bread. I did mine quite thin. I adjusted the heat from the fire by moving the skillet from the heat so that it wouldn't burn, I turned the bread and put it over the heat again for a couple of minutes. By using a lid it gets like a little oven. It can get a bit crusty on the surface, but I think they turned out just fine.
If making pizza I make one large rectangular pizza with this amount and bake it for about 14 minutes in 250 deg C in the middle of the oven.

I think everything tastes better outdoors so having steaming hot bread and some stir fried vegetables and chicken for lunch was a treat. We got home really tired and our kids already made dinner, that was such a great way to end the day.

I still dream about taking my spinning wheel with me so that I can sit by the fire in the mornings spinning and having coffee. I can't wait to see the reaction from my hubby once we start getting to the cabin by snowmobile, I think my spinning wheel fits in the back of the sled and that's what I'll bring then.

I hope you had a great weekend a good start for this week.
Until next time, be well.
//S

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53