Prayer Candles Burning at Grace Cathedral in San Francisco, California

in #california6 years ago (edited)


I recently started meditating, using the Headspace app I downloaded to my iPhone. The app guides you through different types of meditative practices to get you ready for the day, help you de-stress, prepare for bed and more. It's not religious. It focuses on the breath, your mind and finding a bit of "headspace" as you proceed through life.

Anyone who knows me well is that I have plenty going on in my head - just not much space.

Today was my fourth day using it (I've been using quick 10 minute experiences to help with my sleeping) and my first day starting the Headspace "class." Even as I type this, I feel relaxed for the day and ready to tackle it.

I was looking at some images on my phone and saw this video I had recorded and decided to share it with you, and to signify my path towards discovering a bit of headspace, as a way to curb my anxiety, my insomnia, and my stress.

I spent Christmas weekend in San Francisco and walked from my hotel to Grace Cathedral, an Episcopal cathedral in the Nob Hill neighborhood.

The cathedral was completed in 1964 and has a lovely, welcoming atmosphere - even for this atheist. I'll be sharing my visit to the cathedral in another post.

For now, I just wanted to share this peaceful moment with you. No matter what your religious beliefs are, if any, the peace of a candle burning can be enjoyed by everyone.

Make sure you turn up the volume on this one - you can hear the church organ playing in the background!

Have a great Saturday, Steemians!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 37.791888 lat -122.413890 long Candles burning at Grace Cathedral d3scr)
Sort:  

I love lighting altar candles when I visit churches. Such serenity in the ritual.

I do too. Even if I'm not religious, ritual fascinates me and even if it's just a candle for thinking of someone or being in the moment.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sarahvain
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=qqk0k36p


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I also love to light the candle & pray at the church. I think meditating at the start of the day is really good. It really cleanse you to have a full clear mind day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77