Camp Fire - November 12, 2017 - Holding PeacesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #campfire6 years ago

Dear Camp Fire:

How do we hold that moment of feeling peace when the world is in turmoil around us?  

Sincerely;

@vickiebarker 

Dear @vickiebarker;

In the documentary UNGRIP that featured my work, Ben Stewart also talked about being at peace despite the violence going on in the world.  Accomplishing that though is easier said then done.  I can only speak for myself, so what I do is recognize that my window to the world is literally the window on my laptop.  I control when I turn it on or off.  But when it is off, I work hard to then leave the world behind and find solitude in my world.  My wife and I returned to the land, so spending time with one another, working in the bush, gardens, greenhouses, chicken coops, barn yard, etc is a way for us to build an intimate relationship with Mother Earth.  So we spend that time which grounds us and helps us focus on the present moment.  This interaction soothes the pain that I feel as I witness what so many people do to one another.  My meditation provides insights into topics to write about so that I can influence changes to make this world a better place to live.  All that work starts within me and is then reflected in my writings, radio interviews, documentaries, books, etc.  By checking in with myself, I can also recognize what is mine or not.  If the energy or pain is somebody else, I then let it go.  If it belongs to me then I process it quickly so that I can move on.  

In the end though, I know deep down that I cannot 'change' anybody but myself.  Knowing this has helped me to let go of the anxiety that I carried around for many years.  I know I can influence people by sharing my story, but I cannot 'make' people change.  They have to do that themselves.  So I surrender to the concept and share what I can and have faith that Creator will help those people who want to do the work.  I pray that hearts soften so that everyone can heal, but all I can really do is work on myself and confront people who engage in violence.  

We have worked hard to create our own garden of Eden where we live.  Our life style is one of peace so it is easy for us to hold onto that living as we live it!  We have worked so hard on the energy of the land that we steward, that most people can feel the difference the moment they come through the gate.  At times it take hours for people to walk from our door to their car for them to leave.   They just feel so peaceful that they don't want to go.  We worked for years to clear the energy and build a space for peace and that helps us out a great deal.  

I find it very difficult to find peace within the city due to the darker energy, noise, hustle and bustle.  But out on the land it is much easier.  Meditation, healthy food, clean water, fresh air, lots of exercise, purpose and friendships keep that peaceful feeling flowing.  

However, opening this electronic window brings the violence here, so I must be careful how long I hold that window open.  I see changes happening though.  I am finding peace, freedom, healing and healthy relationships even though this window. Walking the path of peace is a tough one to follow, but I also find amazing people on this path and that helps the feelings greatly!  The more I find, the longer I hold the window open.  Lately it has been open a lot as the firm boundaries I have made filter out those who engage in war.  As a result I find people who are working towards the same objectives I am and that brings even more hope, joy, freedom, love and peace.  The more of us there are, the more we can influence others.  

That helps me then deal with the darker side of life so that we can spread the peace around even further.  Requires a lot of forgiveness, but it is well worth venturing through the darkness to do it.  

 Sincerely; 
 

I AM that I AM
My Spirit Name is White Walking Feather
My vessel's name is rob in the pagé family

I now turn over the talking feather to anybody else sitting around the  camp fire that has something to say or contribute.  If anybody has a question they want to ask for the next camp fire, please pose the question.  If you want it to be confidential, then e-mail it to me at white dot walking dot feather at gmail.com.   Rules for camp fire can be found at https://steemit.com/campfire/@wwf/camp-fire-october-14-2017 

Sort:  

I use my garden as a sanctuary, too. Despite the turmoil around us, no day is bad that has a walk in my garden to meditate and to enjoy nature!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61