Camping with my Marine Dad

in #camping7 years ago

[Image Source: www.pixabay.com]

Life as a military brat was extremely hard yet fun. Maybe it was just the way my father used the Marine aspect in raising me and my brother. Either way, it was a great experience that I would never forget.

I remember I was 6 years old when my father said to my brother and me, "Boys, we're going camping!" I was so excited when I heard it. Three days before the day, dad gave a briefing on the area and the amount of time we would be out. That's right, a briefing as if we were service men. The day before the camping trip, dad bought each of us a rabbit. I had no idea why but I loved it.

The day of the camping trip, we had all the gear packed and we headed to the site. We drove for about 2 and a half hours and high up in the mountains to the campsite. It was a place called Three Peaks in Japan outside the base.

Now once we arrived, dad said "Now boys, don't expect me to do anything for you. I will talk you through but you will have to do it. Do you understand?" Screaming like little Marines we said, "Yes sir!"

After acknowledging the order dad talks through setting the tents, collecting the kindling, tinder, and firewood, and making the fire. My brother and I were so tired and we were starving. I asked, "Sir, what are we having for dinner?" Dad slowly began to turn his head towards me at the same time as a smile was developing on his face and said, "Rabbit!"

Once I heard that I ran to the van and grabbed my rabbit cradling it in my arms and said, "No! Bugs is not dinner!" Mind you I just got this rabbit the day before and I was attached, it was my first rabbit. I then started to realize why he gave the rabbits.

Dad looked at me after handing a knife to my brother and attempting to hand one to me he said, "Kill it or you don't eat." I was filled with so much emotion that I couldn't comprehend. I was thinking, "Do I eat or starve?" All while thinking I glanced over at my brother, who was already stabbing the crap out of his rabbit. (Imagine being 4 and having your father tell you its ok to kill the rabbit) My brother was enjoying it.

I was sobbing with a stutter cry, I grabbed Bugs by the ears with the left and raised the knife with the other. Dad calmly says, "Aim for the heart or head." The knife goes down, my tears were like rain. As it's over with dad calmy says, "Now take out the guts and remove the skin."

I am still crying as I was doing what he was saying. Crying and trying to breathe I was saying "I'm sorry Bugs. I'm sorry." Dad then handed me a stick and a tin cup then said, "Put the stick through it. Put the heart, kidneys, and liver in the cup. Then come near the fire."


Image source:

Now that we're all by the fire, my dad dipped his finger in the rabbit's blood and rubbed it on me and my brother's forehead. He then said, "Fill the cups with water and place them next to the fire about 4 inches. Then place the stick into the ground leaning towards the fire."

The campfire was the only light source besides the moonlight beaming through the canopy. I was still crying but the stutter cry was fading. My brother then looked at me with wide open eyes and a smile then said, "We redrum the bunny. Redrum. Redrum."

The aroma of the rabbit's flesh began to fill my nose and my tears began to lessen. "It's time to eat now," says dad. I then took my first bite into Bugs and as a single tear fell I sat straight up chewing then said, "I'm sorry Bugs but you taste so good." Looking around the fire I see my brother eating rabbit and sipping organ soup.

After I saw my brother, a smile grew on my face but when I turned to look at my dad the smile changed to a jaw drop. I couldn't believe my eyes. He was eating a damn burger from Burger King. As the burger was being chewed up in his mouth he said, "I said you were eating rabbit not me."

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @words-of-memory to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Want to Know More! Check out introduction post on how to use steemitrobot

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Done. Thanks for dropping in man.

@words-of-memory, a wonderful story of your past experience with your dad there mate. :)

Thanks. great experience

Lol! That is truly horrible and hilarious. I can just see your brother stabbing his bunny and your dad eating his burger. Lol! Thanks for sharing. Made me laugh.

Congratulations @words-of-memory! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73