Come with Zeke and walk along this mile........The Grotto

in #camping6 years ago

IMG_3819.jpg

As none of you know because this is the first time you are hitting my blog by some freak circumstance of great fortune, I am all about the adventure. STEEMit platform has changed nothing except I have a bunch of like-minded folks with whom to share this adventure.

You will also not know that I like to brand things and flex my awful graphic design skills to create a title picture so my posts become familiar and pop out on your feed. Brilliant huh? Well this latest one is inspired by one of my favourite bands of all time and this song. So press play, and scroll through my journey to The Grotto in Bruce Peninsula National Park in Canada https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/on/bruce/activ/experiences/grotto

The trip took is appoximately 3.5 hours north of our place by car by the time we arrived on our campsite at Poplars campground. If you check the map, we are camped conveniently close to the smaller Cyprus Lake, making it nice and warm and close and great for kids and catching crayfish.

BPNP_GrottoandArea_EN.jpg

IMG_3814.jpg

You can trace our hike from the campground to the grotto past Horse Lake and Marr Lake. The trail was shown as a Black Diamond because of a neat debris field (caused by eons of years of erosion that caused a huge collapse long ago.) I am not sure if it was more challenging for the 4 kids or the beat up old athletes (a gymnast, cross fit practitioner/baseball player and the Jiu Jitsu fighter you know)

IMG_3756.jpg

IMG_3762.jpg

We got through it alright though it was overcast and a big breezy. That is probably why it was deserted and awesome when we arrived.

IMG_3771.jpg

Indian Head Cove is a nice place to swim if you like rocks and COLD WATER! Apparently, the water is 15 Celsius or 60 Fahrenheit right now. Normally I just plunge right in but memories of a camping trip 10 years or so ago made me pause. Took me a few tries but I went right in and the kids were even more bold.

IMG_3779.jpg

The gang swam around from Indian Head Cove and I chose to walk around and bring my phone to take some pics from above.

IMG_3801.jpg

I am going to save the adventure of my climb down through this hole in the rock for another post because it was something else. It was either that or take the long way down scaling the rocks behind slow people. I am not much for the long way down.

IMG_3796.jpg

Here is the view from inside the cave after the spelunking that is the wallpaper on my desktop for now.

IMG_3813.jpg

After such a fantastic adventure, it was easy to return to the smaller lake and watch the kids play for yours. Kind of good for the soul to just enable the lifelong memories of others, drink too much beer, visit with @davedickeyyall, and do absolutely nothing for a while.

IMG_3815.jpg

We did have a full week there so I had to play tourist a little and visit the town of Tobermory. Quaint little town with a nice harbour, lots of shops, restaurants and even a craft brewery! https://tobermorybrewingco.ca/ Unfortunately they were out of IPA but fortunate as I would have just added another growler to the collection that is already too big.

IMG_3817.jpg

That didn't stop me from having an old favourite on a patio though in Neustadt Scottish Pale Ale http://www.neustadtsprings.com/neustadtsprings/OUR_BEERS.html

IMG_3819.jpg

What you may not have noticed from the flashy title pic was the insane amount of Poison ivy at the park. It was big and healthy and almost every where. A bit of a parenting win when none of the 4 children with us contracted any of it on their skin.

IMG_3832.jpg

I had to post a pic of this little guy as he was there the whole trip. Bold as hell crawling within a foot of us, running under our chairs, even trying to gnaw the top off the peanut jar one morning. I saw a chip munk as well but there were more of these. Funny to watch thew bluejays flock in the trees and try to hunt these as a pack.

IMG_3850.jpg

This is a neat one as well with the camo. I am always happy to see frogs as a sort of ecological health barometer.

IMG_3854.jpg

Some of you have already gotten a laugh out of me for my irish sunbathing. I range from translucent white to burst-into-flames with not much of a stage in between. Better to cover up than slather more of that damn sunscreen on.

IMG_3862.jpg

We also ate fairly well for camping standards and I managed to bbq some pizza by using a frying pan (to even out the heat) and some steam with a cover to cook it properly. Fuelled by BEER!

IMG_3820.jpg

Hopefully the Clutch song lasted long enough for you to get to the sunset on this trip and post.

Thanks for walking another mile with your buddy Zeke.

Sort:  

You got a 32.97% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @zekepickleman!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94