You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did Canada Come of Age at Vimy Ridge?

in #canada5 years ago (edited)

I forget that your nation's history is nowhere near as bloody as mine. By the time you entered WWI we'd fought 4 wars and didn't need to be bloodied in any nation's eyes. I know so little of your WWI history. Thank you for sharing this, to educate me.

We've lost family members in every war America has fought. I truly understand the pain and honor of this battle. May they rest in peace forever.

Our Tomb of the Unknown is probably our most sacred site. It goes back to the Civil War and includes remains from all our wars. It is the most solemn place I know.

Sort:  

WW1 wasn't actually the first war we were engaged in. Canada sent troops to South Africa during the Boer War. In fact a lot of those who signed up for WW1 initially had seen service in South Africa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86