You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The World is Our Oyster --

in #canada5 years ago

This is my surprised face. That you might not be told what to read...

I do not remember my first book. I suppose it may have been Tom Swift, I'm still a fan of the 'Swifties' he said convincingly. I learned to read by remembering the words from the 'children's books' my parents read to us. That and the Sunday funnies.

I do remember the first book I read that had the big impact on me. East of Eden by Steinbeck. In the 6th grade I had read through the Elementary school library and an enlightened teacher gave me permission to go to the High School library where the Librarian recommended Steinbeck to keep me occupied for a time.

I'm no poetry fan, either. But i have a couple of well battered copies of Service' on my bookshelf. Amazing stuff. I memorized Sam McGee and clearly remember '... that night on the marge of Lake Lebarge when I cremated Sam McGee."

One thing I have discovered about words and books and oysters. If you read a book that isn't as good as you may have thought it's like an oyster sans pearl. Still pretty tasty.

Sort:  

One thing I have discovered about words and books and oysters. If you read a book that isn't as good as you may have thought it's like an oyster sans pearl. Still pretty tasty.

I love that ... although to be honest, I've never eaten oysters. Not sure why.

Reading opens up so many worlds. It always amazes me when I meet folks who say they don't like reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81