A quick rant about tobacco

in #canada5 years ago

thJ4XDQ02X.jpg

I am a Canadian. It's not my fault, I was born here. Like many of my fellow sheep I drink too much beer, opt for a diet consisting mostly of meat and a the few veggies as garnish than actual food, and I indulge in controlled substances from time to time. I'm not talking about weed, but tobacco.

I had smoked for 20 years before switching to smokeless to give my lungs a break. I know its a bad habit, but when you're an addict... Anyways when I got off the smokes I found my favorite to be skoal cherry. Recently, our glorious all knowing liberal government banned flavored tobacco products because, well you know the kids might eat it thinking its candy. Give me a break. Bad enough the sin tax is so extreme that a $4 tin costs $35 but now my product of choice is unavailable. Don't get me wrong, it's a good economic model to have a person so hooked on a product that you can tax the shit out of it and they keep buying. Then a little bell rang in my head, EUREKA !!!

Last week a work colleague of mine was telling me about how he caught his 14 year old vaping in the house. That sent off a few alarm bells at first, but after thinking about it for more than a minute i was like WTF !! How many teenagers have I seen vaping lately, or smoking, as opposed to how many have I ever seen chewing? Then it occurred to me that our government is nothing more than a bunch of idiots with no grasp of reality, but they know a cash cow when they see it.

Kids aren't going to chew tobacco it's gross. Us crusty old boomers and GenX gonna keep on keepin on regardless. Kids on the other hand will smoke and vape because it's cool.

I went to the corner store beside my house to check out the selection of vape machines and flavors. Fancy indeed. Of course they all contain nicotine. And the list of flavors is mind blowing:
cotton candy
strawberry
daiquiri
lime
lemon pie
chocolate
rum butter
candy apple
green apple
watermelon
icecream
and of course, they have CHERRY !!

like 3000 other flavors...just google it for yourself.

I've spoken to teachers and they are alarmed about how many kids are vaping in school. More than ever smoked in my time. If the 1000% sin tax is justified by the future cost to treat cancer and health effects of tobacco usage, why is big brother allowing today's generation of kids to get addicted to tobacco in greater numbers than anytime in living memory?? why is "e-juice" not regulated as well?

If you are a parent then next time your dropping off your kids at school keep an eye out for kids spitting chew. probably never noticed one before and you probably wont now. Because they never have and never will. The liberal policy is working, right?? Now look at how many kids you spot vaping. Probably going to see one or two. I'm betting in 5 years those kids will also have to deal with a 1000% sin tax. By then their all addicts so its like money from heaven for masters.

You see, they don't give a rats ass about our health, they want us sick and addicted so that they can tax the bejesus out of us. Banning cherry flavored snuff or grape cigarillos was just a cover so that they could say that they care and are doing something. They are after the money and that's the bottom line.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Im currently just trying to quit nicotine as a smoker also for 20yrs, Ive reduced more than 50% but wow it really is a sheep drug! And now with the vape e cigs whatever, we had no clue what the effects of ecigs were (do we still?!) and yeh its sick how they make so many flavours.

The other day I watched a guy who was blatently living a sweet tooth diet, chugging on his vape and had to chuckle as it was evidently toffee flavour.. Anyone who eats sweet things would even mostly be more inclined to vape more just because the mind would have also the reflex of "more sugar" substituted aswell as "more nicotine" !!

Posted using Partiko Android

@movingman I just quit a while back after a 50+ a day habit. I felt like a corporate whore every time I lit one up. This PDF helped me, it can't hurt to take a look.
https://whyquit.com/joel/ntap.pdf
In the PDF he (Joel Spitzer) explains why cutting down isn't always the most successful route.

Thanks for the ebook! Did you just quit instantly? Did you have rages of anger and a burning iside? 😂

I stopped years ago but relapsed when i was newly single and went to many festivals in one summer 🙁

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I just stopped instantly, my Mrs turned into an axe murderer for a few days but I didn't have any issues with anger.

We'd stopped for about 16 months before we took it up again the last time. My Mrs got some pot for my birthday and she wanted to mix it with tobacco. When the pot was gone we had 1/2 a pack of smokes left, so we smoked that and then the next day she bought another pack.

So after about six weeks of buying just one more packet and making excuses we finally made the commitment and quit.

An old guy who I really respected said something to me the last time I quit that made a lot of sense. He said
There's only one way to quit son
I asked him, Yeah how's that?
Stop putting the fucking things in your mouth

I realised this today after retelling my mind that there is no otherway to go about than to just stop, and tell all the people around you that your having withrawals from drugs, and then people would be more lineaent. I dont think people know how it can be for some people stopping it, because I'm turning into a right fucking nutter and others can just give up not even trying or having any anger effects lol..

My Mrs got some pot for my birthday and she wanted to mix it with tobacco.

This is the worst thing about being born and raised in the UK, Its standard that its smoked with bakky, and that's the harder thing, an English stoner has no clue that they are so hooked on tabacco! Or if they do know it then its denial :) Were fucked on that one from the start.

I was out allday walking around flea markets with women and kids, and had just smoked a spliff in the morning and they kept asking if I was ok because I was quiet hahaha. Its now 15 hours since, and when I got home I was so irritated that I had a mouthful of vodka, and that really worked to change my mind to not thinking about smoking lol.

I also got a volcano here so thats like my saviour atm! Fuck Im determined, its too ironic I refer to self as a free man when I'm super addicted to government drugs, and one thing I hate is hypocrites!

Sugar and coffee being other examples of what I call Government drugs, both of which I am far from addicted too, its just the Nicotine left!

It's funny how you've written the first paragraph in that reply, there's a duality that occurs when the rational part of your mind negotiates or argues with the addicted part of your mind in the early stages of quitting. I kind of enjoyed that duality and viewed it from an outside perspective like a third person. My Mrs didn't, for her it was a personal battle but for me it was like watching two other people wanting to get their way.

That internal shitfight only lasts 2 or 3 days tops, so if you can get over that stage, never take another puff.

Yes! This time around I have a good 6 years of self learning phychology and meditation so I have a great understanding of how that voice will say and persuade anything.. And all in aid to cause us pain in the end by listening to its suggestions. Fuck the mind! 😂

My house mate is back smoking next to me and all good! I reminded myself aswell that it wont be exactly like it was over a decade ago when I tried to stop again, another trait of the mind is to assure you the outcome will be the same as lastime especially on a bad outcome 😊

I am really done with it, and am just recognizing when the mind association happens. Got a good tactic this time around 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

hahah a big welcome back for me... doing it again after 18 years without even little tobacco...
well i've hard smoked for only 3 years back then 1999-2002...
this is my new favorite tobacco Django (dispelled :)))
IMG_20190503_051408.jpg

Lol. You smoked for 3 years and stopped for 18 and you just started again?! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

hahahahahahahahahah oh man! thats funy, im 15 hours without now and feeling good, but been medicating still hahahahahah

Its got lead init?!?! ???

Posted using Partiko Android

I love mint snuss.

Posted using Partiko Android

And see, now you know the REAL rules of the game.

I think you've figured it out. Our pansy ass gov does not, never did, and never will give a rats ass about your health. So what's the real agenda? Flu shots and other vaccinations! Anybody?

Governments are more addicted than smokers, when they increase the tax and cut funding to hospitals it's easy to see it's all a big con. They are like a heroin dealer that gets you addicted and then keeps upping the price.

Congratulations @dragonfart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lordneroo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71