You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on Not Living in Canada and Voting there with Scenery of North Eastern Ontario

in #canada5 years ago (edited)

Catching up a bit this morning, I enjoyed this post @abitcoinskeptic. Wonderful pictures!

”… because they say stupid things like -10C isn't cold, in Calgary -10C is T-shirt weather. No, it isn't unless you are smoking a lot of meth, but then you have bigger things to worry about."

Good humor!

”It's hard to understand how clean the air is in Canada if you live in east Asia. However, it's hard to understand how dirty the air is in east Asia if you live in Canada. The air in Korea is getting worse and worse.”

Curious @abitcoinskeptic, how much of this air quality in Korea is uhhh … “native” to the Korean peninsula vs. “coming down” from China? Which I understand to have the worst air quality anywhere on earth …

Overall, enjoyed getting your perspective. From one who has obviously experienced a lot. I am thankful to be middle class, with no desire to change that, as both “up” and “down” from there are problematic in ways which I would personally prefer to avoid. Living simply seems the healthiest. All things considered …


P.S. And living simply in small towns, even better ... 😉

Sort:  

I do remember being in high school and one day it was like 5C after a week of -20C and we were all in T-shirts outside. I've also heard stories of Inuit in southern prisons. In both cases, hardly role models.

Studies have shown around 40 ~ 70% of the pollution in Korea is from China. I think it's closer to the lower end of that, but it's still significant and gross. China is (on average) around 500km away.

I remember Canadians used to complain about Detroit and other such 'rust belt' towns. I used to say, per person we pollute just as badly. I feel the same way about China to Korea. It's just one of those things, you can't really point fingers. I don't like the Chinese government, but I believe they are trying with air pollution.

Small towns are great, I live on the outskirts of a megacity and I must for my job, but if things change or when I retire, I'm moving.

Yes sir ...

"... I live on the outskirts of a megacity and I must for my job ..."

... that is the choice most of us face, at one time or another. As a general rule, at least at our time in human history, opportunities are just much fewer and farther between in smaller population centers.

We were very fortunate to live in one, but ... Our children were unable to figure out (and lost interest in even attempting to ...) how to "make out" living anywhere close to us, so ... I ended my career in a much larger population center than we'd prefer. Where we were in much closer proximity to them and our grandchildren.

"... but if things change or when I retire, I'm moving."

Yes, absolutely @abitcoinskeptic. If you can ... Depending on what "change" is at hand, any of us so inclined may be faced with a real challenge in doing so, with many others attempting to do likewise.

We are facing another one of those big "Ys in the road of life" ourselves, in deciding whether to move again. In advance of such a potential "stampede" ... We personally find it increasingly difficult to be optimistic about what's coming ...

It's another concern of mine. I don't know if raising teenage children in the countryside is fair for them. I would definitely need to consider sending them away for university. In my case, I'd be happy moving now, but I need a few more years until I can risk it and another few years to convince others in my household.

I think living in the countryside is ideal from about 55 to 75. I'd have to sacrifice too much to retire before then and after 75, I don't know if I would want to be so isolated and far from hospitals and family.

Yes, good points @abitcoinskeptic. We are talking about "legacy" and what we realistically think we might yet be able to do, at this stage of our lives. Declining strength, health, etc. is just an unavoidable reality, when reflecting on the future and what might be ...

But ... We like to encourage each other with "I'm not dead yet" and continue on ... 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71