You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on Not Living in Canada and Voting there with Scenery of North Eastern Ontario

in #canada5 years ago

I distinctly remember those frigid Calgary winters. Winters are so cold, of course, that vehicles have 'block heaters' in the engine which need to literally be plugged into an electric outlet at night to keep the engine warm so it'll start in the morning. Funny story. When I moved from Calgary to Windsor, ON, for graduate school, I remember being harassed about this "plug" hanging out of the front of my car. I remember asking why I had to pay for a parking spot where there was no outlet!

Sort:  

That's a great story.
I remember those plugs and when I was younger I was naive enough to think they were electric cars or just to help start it up. Windsor can still get fairly cold the odd time, but nothing compared to Calgary.
I always wondered why cars rarely have any insulation. Also, the gas burns at a very high temperature, but it's just waste most of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72