Four Books for Cancer Survivors

in #cancer6 years ago

Sometimes, you don't know it's cancer until a doctor tells you that when you're in a hospital bed. That was how I got the news. Colon cancer. I did not have a computer or cell phone with Internet access. Sure, I was surrounded by doctors and nurses, but I didn't have access to information that I could review. After I left the hospital, I began researching cancer. Here's a list of books I wish I had when I was in the hospital.

Cancer survival guide : how to conquer it and live a good life
by Charlotte Libov, 2016.

The Cancer Survival Guide provides general information about cancers and what patients/caregivers can do to improve the patient's chance of surviving. The organization and language make the subject accessible to non-medical readers without patronizing the reader. This reader felt as though an extraordinarily kind and patient nurse explained a new world to me.

Colon cancer: what you need to know -- now
by American Cancer Society, 2007

This Quick Facts paperback zooms in on colon cancer, describing this particular cancer, tests to detect it (CT, MRI, PET), staging, what actions patients can expect. It provides basic terminology and offers additional resources for further research. There are other books in this series - Quick Facts - for other types of cancer.

Radical remission: surviving cancer against all odds
by Kelly A. Turner, 2014

Radical Remission lists nine factors that cancer patients can undertake to increase the odds of becoming cancer survivors. There is no promise that meeting all of these goals will SAVE everyone; they are steps that successful cancer survivors have taken. Conventional treatment is mentioned; these are steps taken additionally. My favorite section was about herbs and supplements, which she divides into three categories: those that help digest food, those that detoxify the body, and those that boost the immune system. Drawing in real survivors illustrates her findings.

Cancer: 50 essential things to do
by Greg Anderson, 2013

The author is a cancer survivor who is skeptical about the prevalent use of chemotherapy for cancer treatment. He lists actions cancer patients need to do to improve the odds of living and living beyond the five-year survival expectation. My favorite advice from this book is "Stop 'Awfulizing'". The questions to ask your doctor are also helpful. He also provides a list of resources.

I don't consider myself an expert, but I've come a long way from feeling like a thing on a Petri dish to me-with-a-chronic-disease. Being informed makes life easier. I can do things for myself - and that matters.

I am reading other cancer books. These are just the four that I thought needed promoting first. If you have any favorite books about cancer, please share the titles, authors, and why you suggest reading. Thanks for reading. Please share if you think this post will help anyone. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sort:  

Congratulations @d7ana! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @d7ana! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76