Botany With Tryp: Cloning the Next Generation

in #canna-curate5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I have been participating in canna-curate recently thanks to the unreleased game Hashkings by @qwoyn. They really like plants over there, so I have decided to show my grow and explain how to set up your own in appreciation.

20190205_163154_HDR.jpg

Introduction

I will be cloning my favorite weed today, but this exact same method can be used for many different plants. Some will be a little more finiky and need certain conditions or a different process like starting with a leaf or root. Check google for steps on different plants.

The methods I am going to show you may not be the best methods, but they have done me very well. Since today was cloning day, I will make this my first topic. It is also my favorite part of the entire process. It's truly amazing watching new plants take root and grow from just a few cuttings.



The Clone Machine

20190205_152243.jpg

This is where the magic happens. The setup is super simple, but a pain in the butt. All you need is a plastic bin, a fountain pump, pvc pipe (one connector threaded for the pump), and the sprayer tips.

That's the method for this machine, but honestly there are plenty of methods for achieving similar results. All you need is a way to spray the bottom of the cuttings with water. You also want a light over head, I use two cheapy long LED lights.

20190205_152347_HDR.jpg

With the lid on. I didn't get a pic of them alone, but the holes are for baskets and styrofoam that hold the top of the plant above the machine. These should be pretty easy to substitute, just use something that won't absorb water. The only time I have had plants get root rot was when I used cloth instead of styrofoam to hold the plants up. Unused holes just get the basket and styrofoam without a plant.



20190205_153706_HDR~2.jpg

Cloning

Pictured above will become our newest plant, or rather our newest three plants. You can take any piece of stem and form new clones as long as there's at least one leaf. As I am going to do with this one you can cut up a stem multiple times.

The task at hand is to expose the inner bark. With a clean (and ideally sanitized) razor, cut off the stem at an angle. Afterwords shave off the thin layer of outer bark on one side of the bottom of the stem. I couldn't get a pic that showed the difference but it is easy to see. The inner bark will be smoother and brighter green compared to the outer. After words turn the plant over and put 3 horizontal cuts down the side of the stem you didn't shave.



Cloning Gel

20190205_153936~2.jpg

I've heard you can stop at this point, just stick the clones into the machine and let them go. Though your success ratio will be much higher if you give the plants a little extra help with some cloning gel.

This stuff not only uses hormones to encourage root growth, it protects your young and fragile new plants from any diseases they might get from the exposed bark.

Apparently if you are looking for a homemade recipe tea made from willow makes a good substitute, and honey won't help your roots grow faster, but will help protect the plant.

I have used multiple brands of gels with no noticable difference, but can't comment much on the honey, willow, or other methods people use. Perhaps next batch I will give them a shot.

Just dip them and stick em.

20190205_154228_HDR (1)~2.jpg

20190205_154435_HDR~2.jpg

20190205_162554_HDR~2.jpg

After about a week you will see little white spikes begin to poke out of your stems. I dont have pics of this atm, but will post them in an update. When these appear I dose the water with a quarter to half the amount of nutrients they would normally recieve to give them an extra boost. A week after that you should have 2+ inch roots ready to be transplanted.

Unfortunately, even though I use hydro nutes it will clog the machine up. I like giving them extra time to strengthen before transplanting however.



Ending Thoughts

If you are interested in seeing these baby girls grow into full fledged trees then please consider leaving a follow. I will also be documenting other parts of the process like lighting, nutrients, staking and topping.

Also, if you have any questions or would like to discuss other methods please leave a comment. I am always happy to teach and learn.

Sort:  

Oh yeah, steem and canna approves this post!!! BTW to post pics the right way, just do a simple edit to them, and they will post normal. I take it your posting from phone. What i do is just change the filter on them.

Awesome I was able to get them fixed! Thank you very much.

As a homesteader, the ideas here will help me as I go about learning about growing the plants I can grow.

Glad I was able to reach out to more then just weed enthusiasts. I hope to one day have a homestead my self, great way of life.

CDT.png THANK YOU
for creating positive and educational CANNABIS content on steemit. ~RESPECT~

Thank you! I plan to be posting a lot more as well. Haven't checked out the radio station yet but its something I plan on doing. Can I access it on mobile?

Yes, since it is through DISCORD APP, it is available on your mobile. You can also catch it on vimm.tv@greenhouseradio
~RESPECT~

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 158 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Good bot

Thank you, really appreshiate the upvote and mention

Cool, post, thanks for the recipe! Haven't cloned in awhile, use to do this with olive trees and figs and roses.... with slight variations that is. Check out my last color challenge GreenThursday post, those beauties are all from clones! https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@kimmysomelove42/color-challenge-thursday-green-marjuana-take-down

Those are some pretty girls, do you use that wire for staking? Seems pretty convienient to not have to jam sticks through the roots, and you can use the space for drying after harvest.

There are long metal poles on top of ceiling, that's where we hang... the grid walls are how they can stand up or weave different ways, these last 2 rounds we did them shorter, healthier easier to deal with...

Yeah thats an awesome idea, at the moment I use bamboo sticks in the dirt to keep them up. By the time they need it the roots are so dense that I know I'm doing some damage with this method.

yeah, I found that bamboo can mold and mites like it... we just get the grid walls and take the time to unwind and store properly, sterlize and re-use, cause it's plastic.... it will be wonderful when all the gardening plastic things will be replaced by biodegradable HEMP!!!

Congratulations @tryp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58