Tims Story: Quitting painkillers for Cannabis pt 2

in #canna-currate5 years ago (edited)

Happy Weedsday Ladies and Gents!!!
In the previous article I shared the beginning section of a very good friend of mine's story. If you are just joining me and you want to read the beginning please visit: https://montrosestar.com/tims-story-breaking-the-cycle-of-opioid-addiction/ for that content! Please share to your friends as the Opioid Crisis in this country has skyrocketed and many people die everyday due to not having access to or knowledge of adequate medical options to come clean of these harmful chemicals. The more this problem is discussed and more people come to understand the medical benefits of cannabis , this Opioid problem could subside. Our health, as a general population would significantly improve with the legalization of cannabis.
c64a7c4ef9907b4b90f4111f3b0ef2cd.jpg

On to the next part of Tim's Story:
(Continued from previous article)

With the surgery finally corrected, the medication stayed the same for another 6 months. But honestly, I was probably out of pain within about 2 weeks of that. But, I continued taking the pills because at that point I liked the way they made me feel and if I didn’t take them the pain would show up almost instantaneously; not because I was in pain at that point but because my body would start to go through withdrawals. When the pills go away, that’s when it becomes a desperate situation. You don’t want to go through the withdrawals and you want to get high but you don’t have a prescription anymore. So, you maybe find a friend or relative, maybe someone at work who has a prescription and they sell them to a select few at work, if you can get into that group. Then its waiting on refill day…. I will spare details because honestly, the story always ends up with someone getting hurt if you have seen the progression of Pharmaceuticals to street opiates.

I had very limited experience with cannabis at this point.

-For those of the opinion that cannabis is a gateway drug, I implore you to read this-

The last withdrawal I had really did change my direction thankfully and this is the G rated version.  When you are using 10 to 12 times a day as a daily routine, there is a set dollar amount that you know you need to have.  So when it all transforms into nothing, justification becomes a best friend. I’m sure you all know that you can trust a junky, right?  Right, well living in the street or a $80 a week hotel should have been my first clue, but somehow my brain was able to justify it.  That was pretty much everything I had other than a change of clothes.

Then when I couldn’t afford it, I began to withdrawal and was rushed to the hospital essentially having a seizure the whole way. From the hospital I was taken to a detox center for ten days, at which point I had someone pick me up so that I could use again the second I got out, the whole time I was in the only thing I thought about was getting out and using again.

I had experimented with cannabis before but only used it on special occasion with friends, I had a friend that was in recovery for the same situation, he explained to me that he had used cannabis to fight the withdrawal symptoms and that he continued to use cannabis because at that point he had helped him stay clean for over two years.  I decided to give it a try because after being hospitalized 3 times, I was now actually worried about the possibility of death, everyone around me that I knew either wanted to use or were dying. 

Please stay tuned to next publication for completion of Tim's Story

Sort:  

Congratulations @ganjagrrl420! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66