Orange Barbara - Strain Review

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Orange Barbara

Welcome to my strain review of Orange Barbara Bud. While doing some research on this bud I've determined it is likely the Orange Barb strain grown by House of the Great Gardener. It's said to have social, uplifting and creative effects much like one of it's parents Barbara Bud.

20180327_153610.jpg

I must say they've done some really nice work on creating strains. Some of the ones I've heard of and tried include Rene, Jean Guy, Jack Herer, CBD Rene and now Orange Barb.

20180327_153253.jpg

Another one of the strains I purchased from the Green Rhino dispensary. It was priced at $10 per gram but on for $8 per gram. Most of their bud seems permanently on sale, I'm not sure. I purchased it with a 20% that they frequently offer which brought the total down to $6.40 per gram.

20180327_153541.jpg

I have about 4 more strains to go before i will switch it up to Whistler Medical Corp. I'd like to get from Whistler Medical more but the prices are a little bit heavier to deal with.

20180327_153632.jpg

The bud has a light green coloring with many light and dark orange pistols distributed among the herbs. Trichome report is an average to thick coverage with milky colored bulbs.

20180327_153627.jpg

The THC content comes in around the average range at 15.43%. CBD almost non-existent at 0.04%. CBG is a little higher at 0.93%. And a cannabinoid that I'm not so familiar with is CBV which has a content of 0.11%, seeming pretty low for me but then again most cannabis has been selectively bred for high THC and so you see it dwarf any other cannabinoids for content in most strains.

20180327_153648.jpg

Smell was sour tangerine mixed with cardboard. The sour tangerine smell is really pleasant but then the cardboard smell is a little off putting. I'm not sure if it would be the strain or just maybe the conditions it was grown.

20180327_153706.jpg

I'm tasting the same sour tangerine type citrus with a bland unrefined paper pulp cardboard taste ending off with what i can only describe as something like a egg roll breading that was cooked too long, just on the verge of being burnt but not. Very unusual i know.

20180327_153728.jpg

The effects seemed fairly mild but enjoyable. I was clear headed, focused and on task for for the duration of the effects. I did not get tired but it was early in the day and I did crash hard later but I would more likely attribute that to the amount of dabs that i had a few hours later.

20180327_153735.jpg

Some info i found on the strain:

  • Sativa Dominant Strain (70% Sativa x 30% Indica)
  • Orange Barb = Barbara Bud x Tangie
  • Taste: Tangerine, Citrus, Earthy
  • Treats: Stress, Pain, Depression

20180327_153754.jpg

Thanks for enjoying my strain review, check out some of my previous reviews; Lemon Thai, Romulan, Pineapple Express, Diana Ross, Justin Trudope, Frankie's Incense Haze, CBD Rene, Super Lemon Haze, God OG, Sour Lemon Diesel, LA Chocolate and Sour OG. Be sure to keep an eye out for future reviews. Blaze on! ✌

Toad Divide.png

Disclaimer: These reviews are for informational purposes to help patients find the proper strains they require to treat their illness. I have no affiliation with any of the companies I review aside from being a patient with them.

Sort:  

sounds like something I will try if I ever come across it. always looking for a flower that helps me stay focused but still lifted.

It an excellent flower to for your daytime needs. Even though the cardboard taste was a little odd the high was great and well worth it. Don't forget to upvote me, it will really help me to continue bringing these reviews. Peace brotha! ✌

Some of these weird flavours come down to the environment the plant was grown in and the inability of grower to dose the fertilisers... I never heard about this strain though.

I do agree. I've noticed that a few strains a friend of mine grows end up having this same febreeze taste to them. I'm not sure if he is spraying that stuff near the plants or whats going on but its come across in almost all the different strains he has grown. And the odd thing is i only get that taste through the vape. When its in a joint or blunt I cannot notice the febreeze taste. This has lead me to try a little experiment in the near future of putting an essential oil diffuser in a tent with some plants to see if it will take on any of the essential oils scent/taste.

Are you a daily smoker? If so, why is it that you smoke regularly? Do you think that smoking daily has negative mental effects? Also what strains would you recommend for a day time smoke?

I am a daily smoke and have been for years. The only negative thing I have noticed is that I avoid a lot of stuff if it has the potential to blow my high. In other words I have less patience for bullshit. This has caused me to quit a few jobs and cut some people out of my life because they had a history of harshing my mellow. other than that I feel more centered and in tune with myself and nature.

I do daily smoke. I use cannabis to help me with nausea, appetite loss and sleep deprivation caused by the medications I am currently on. It's also beneficial for me to have lower blood pressure which cannabis has been accredited with in some research. Cancer prevention is another reason that I use cannabis, there has been some claims that cannabis can help prevent or cure cancer. Since I have a higher risk of some forms of cancer due to a terrible medication I was on that ended up not working anyways I like to think cannabis may help as a preventative measure. One last reason is that some research has linked it to being beneficial to help balance the immune system which would be great help for my condition.
For daytime smokers I would recommend this bud for sure. You'll see that a large part of my reviews are on fruity flavored sativas. I find those are my favorite daytime buds. Anything with citrus type names are a good indication that it is a sativa. Lots of the indica's are usually more of the heavy hitters that will knock you out at night. Also if you have a microscope and can look closely at the trichomes, the clear ones will be best for a daytime high. Once the trichomes start to go into the amber colored that means the THC is likely degrading to CBN which will make you drowsy.
As far as negative mental effects I would have to say yes. Cannabis can have a negative effect of memory and ambition. Also heavy smokers usually either don't dream or don't remember their dreams which means missing out on a whole other reality that you can be experiencing. I also agree with Kief Preston that I do sometimes have less patience, but I can't say that's for sure a result of cannabis consumption.

Awesome bro its good that you have access to this natural alternative. I have heard nightmare stories of prescription medicine, like being prescribed one then another to reduce side effects of that one and then another to reduce side effects of the second!

Thanks for the information on sativas, yes i agree with the memory loss, sometimes i can't remember details of say a movie or stuff i did if ive had a lot to smoke.

But overall its a lot better drug to use for a variety of symptoms as opposed to prescriptions and a lot more healthier too.

Barb looks beautiful... nice captures..

Thanks. Keep an eye out for even better pictures soon, I have a jewelers loop that i can use with my phone to get crazy close ups now. Thanks to @olafurthor who picked one up for me. 😁

Nice, a whole new world of strain photography... love it...

You just planted 0.59 tree(s)!


Thanks to @bluntsmasha

We have planted already 5423.62 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22224.22
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 4X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @bluntsmasha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98