How to roll a joint! Quick and easy guide.

in #cannabis6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

22.jpg

People have often told me I'm pretty great at rolling joints, so I figured why not share my technique with the friendly people of Steemit!

What do we need?

1.jpg

  • Rolling papers: available at your average smoke shop - I like the Smoking brand, but Rizla or others will do fine!
  • Filter tips (optional): also available at most smoke shops
  • Some legally purchased cannabis! ;-) I'm using Gorilla Glue #4 by Elevate in this guide. (Check out my review of this delicious strain here!)
  • A grinder (optional).

2.jpg

I noted that the filter tips are optional:
These seem to be way more popular on the European side of the globe, but I'd like to see this trend grow in the US... I find it a much cleaner way to smoke and you never have to deal with little weednuggets rolling into your mouth etc.

Getting started

3.jpg

If you don't have specific filtertips, you can usually use a thick kind of paper and cut off a tiny piece that's about the length/width of your thumb.
Make a couple folds on one edge (I tend to get an M-shape as you can see in the pictures) and roll it up into a tiny cylinder:

4.jpg5.jpg6.jpg7.jpg

This should do just fine as a filter, so now it's time to grab some rolling paper!

8.jpg

Make sure the paper has the sticky edge at the top and that it's pointing upwards, so it's easy to lick when ready. I tend to place the filter on the left side, but left handed people might find it easier to put it on the right end, it's all preference.

9.jpg

Next up, you're going to grab a decently sized nug of your favorite flower! I always avoid smoking the stems (red circle), so I tend to pluck these a bit! If you have a grinder, this is where you're going to use it, but you can perfectly break up your weed manually. It'll just take a little longer and might make your fingers a bit sticky... :-)

10.jpg11.jpg12.jpg

Now put the result into the joint evenly.
To make it a cone shaped joint, put more material to the front (not the filter side).
13.jpg
14.jpg

Now comes the tricky part!
Hold the joint on both sides and fold it in half.

15.jpg

Proceed to roll it up in an upwards motion until all the weed is sealed in nice and tight.

16.jpg

This will require lots of practice, but I find it much easier when I never let go of the filter-side of the joint.

17.jpg

Avoid making kinks like these if you want to guarantee a nice, solid shape!

18.jpg

Once the joint has a good shape, lick the sticky part of the paper and close that baby up!

19.jpg

20.jpg

To avoid having weed fall out from the top, you can twist the little paper end.
While holding the filter end like a pencil, softly tap the joint on a hard surface to compress everything. Don't overdo it though, or it might get harder to hit your joint!

21.jpg

Enjoy the result!

I might make a Dtube-video as a demonstration, cause I can imagine it's not too easy to learn this through pictures... We'll see! :-)

Let me know if you have any questions and don't hesitate to share your creations!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bluntstep to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Very nice and well put i like the pics involved good job

Thank you @bitlander00 hope it was informative 😊

Well done. Smoking brand is my choice as well!

Thank you @herbsgalore! Many will do the trick but I guess I just stuck with them out of habit.. :-)

Very thorough. A friend gave me my first filter tips last summer & they are pretty great for social joints. Too lazy to put them in my personal joints 😂

Haha, well it's how I learned, so it's always been part of the experience for me.. :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78