The Wide World of Hash - High On Dispensaries #6

in #cannabis7 years ago

Hash ain't what it used to be...

Types of HASH.png


hello.png

Working in a Colorado recreational dispensary, I quite often see old timers whose main focus is reminiscing about weed from days gone by. It almost sounds like complaining when they tell me about how it used to be. Here's a small list of some of the more repeated phrases:


In my day, we just had pot.
What's with all the stupid names? Did you come up with those?
I don't care what kind it is. I just want weed.
Everything's too strong these days

okie.png

I get it. I see through their crotchety old gripes to the subtext underneath. This is what they mean:


How did grass leave me behind?
There's so much I don't know.
Why won't somebody explain this to me?
How does that stoner behind the counter remember all this crap?


Sometimes, if they're not in a huge hurry, one of these old timers will venture to ask about hash.

So, do you sell hash?

discuss.png


We do and we don't. Do you remember that dark sticky stuff that bubbled and burned before getting you really high and gumming your pipe to an unusable mass of resin? That was bubble hash.

Bubble Hash


Bubble hash is quickly becoming obsolete, except for with home-growers. It's generally smoked, not vaporized. The process of making this type of hash is pretty simple. Basically, icy cold water is used to agitate the plant material into releasing the trichomes alone. The trichomes (with all their medicine) are separated from the plant, and the stuff that's collected is the hashish. It's usually about twice as high in THC as the bud that was used.

You can hardly ever find bubble hash in the weed shops anymore, at least in Colorado. It's too pricy to produce compared to the many different superior-potency hash oils on the market. It's a shame, but to get this unique, throwback hash, you basically have to make it yourself or know a guy.


Finger Hash

This one is just what it sounds like. When you handle the cannabis plant, trichomes tend to stick to your fingers. If you happen to be trimming for twelve hours non-stop (It's a lot of work) you will end up with a huge ball of goo, peeled from your fingers. Guess what. That's hash! It's the most primitive (some would say pure) type of hash there is: Finger hash. Do not throw that stuff away. It's incredible to smoke, and if you give it a little time to cure in a sealed container, it's unbelievably smooth. This is one of the best perks of growing your own crop.


Hash Oils

Now it's going to get a little confusing. Once cannabis started hitting the legal, medical scene in recent years, science really took over. Magical chemical processes have been invented which fully extract the cannabinoids from the plant, making oils that are not only potent like nothing we've seen, but expensive as hell.



These new hash oils are generally made to be vaporized for maximum efficiency, but they can be smoked as well. If the THC in the oil has already been activated, these oils can even be ingested in tiny amounts for huge effects.

Butane and Propane are the chemicals that are generally used in the production of mid-grade hash oils. Don't worry, the oils are purged of solvents before completion. Butane is forced through the plant matter, picking up cannabinoids as it goes. The product is filtered through a fine screen, then a vacuum is used to purge and evaporate the remaining solvent from the oil.

Butane Hash Oil

At first, BHO (Butane Hash Oil) was a dangerous game. People were experimenting in their homes with this highly flammable process, causing explosions and fires, not to mention all the oil that was not being properly purged. Fortunately since then, the licensed companies manufacturing BHO have it down to a fine science. Now they can get premium hash oils that test at up to 90% THC. This stuff is for dabbing, by the way, which I'm not going to go into great detail about. Dabbing equals vaporizing. The rest of the hash oils I will describe are meant to me dabbed.


Carbon Dioxide Extracted Hash Oil


The next level of hash oil is extracted with carbon dioxide. This is widely accepted to be an even cleaner method than butane. I'm no scientician, so me trying to explain the process to you would just leave you really confused. So here is a link to an article that explains the process better than I could.

CO2 oil is worth paying a little more for. You can expect to pay about twice as much as BHO hash oil, but it will last more than twice as long. The more you spend, the more you save, eh? Also, a lot of the CO2 oils are overlooked because they come in syringes. That's right, syringes. It's nothing scary, that's just the easiest type of applicator for that type of hash oil.

Steam Distilled Hash Oil


Now we're getting somewhere. This is the absolute cleanest type of hash oil extraction. They only use heat and water, no solvents. The process is pretty much magic to the likes of me, but here is the link to a good Leafly article about distillates.

Steam distillates can be up to 98% pure cannabinoids. They come out as a clear sap, and they're meant to be vaporized. You can expect to pay as much as $80-$100 for a single gram of a steam distillate, depending on the quality. But it's worth it!

Crystalline Hash


This stuff is so new, I don't really know anything about it. It's basically 99.9% pure cannabinoids. Check this out. This stuff goes for $200-$500 a gram. This is where I may have to draw the line and say it's not worth it. I haven't tried any of it yet. Come on, Steemit! Make me rich, so I can dab the crystal hash!

Let's Hash This Out


So you see, the world of hash is broad, and growing all the time. Cannabis is not yet legal federally in the United States, which means that we are not yet able to run independent research on the plant. It's amazing that the heavily regulated medical cannabis industry has been able to make such leaps and bounds with this medicine, even in spite of the control issues.


Hash oils and the other medicines that we extract from the plant are the true future of cannabis.

Do me a favor. Give hash a chance. Give dabbing a chance. You may be extremely pleased with the results.

done.png

Thanks for reading this issue of High On Dispensaries! I'll continue bringing you information, tips and tricks from inside the Colorado Cannabis industry. Stay tuned!

Sources of Information

https://www.leafly.com/news/science-tech/what-are-cannabis-distillate-concentrates
https://www.leafly.com/news/cannabis-101/what-is-hashish
https://honestmarijuana.com/co2-extraction/?age-verified=aa4874d565
https://growproblog.com/blogs/cannabis/what-are-cannabis-concentrates-a-guide-to-extraction-techniques
https://herb.co/2017/03/29/thc-a-crystalline/

Cannabis pictures from Leafly.com
Other pics from Pixabay.com or Bitmoji.com

Sort:  

Excellent Post!

Very well written and I love the view you present from behind the counter. The hash I remember from my youth was made before ice/water hash became widestream. Old school, dry sifted, pressed. :)

🌟 You've been Upvoted & ReSteemed by our Cannabis Curation Team!🌟

Do you want more rewards on original cannabis content?

Join our Team on Discord Chat or Steemit.chat
Upvote this comment
Follow @transientflowers
Vote for Original Cannabis Content -Inside Discord and Steemit.chat
Help to build a strong cannabis community on Steemit!

For more on the project that is ever growing click HERE.

Dope article! I love steam distillate, I used to dab a lot of The Clear but I just can't afford it too much anymore. Psh let alone that crystalline lol I would love to be able to tho! Cheers :)

That's awesome! I love The Clear. I'm all about vaping steam distillates in cartridges. I crave flavor! I'm going to start adding my own terp profiles soon. You can buy them as food grade fragrances. They're not that expensive either.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

🤖💬 This post has been Boosted with a 100.00 % upvote from @cannabiscurator Plugged in by @chrisroberts

I can Help You Pay It Forward and Steem your fellow 🎁💁Steemian back. Simply Transfer 0.042 to @cannabiscurator and the 420 Steemit Post ⛓Link you want 🔼 Upvoted in the Memo.

Join our Cannabis Curation Team

More details @ https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@cannabiscurator/let-s-grow-the-cannabis-community-together

Steemian Stoner Squad 🙏Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow our Cannabis community on Steemit. Your support helps increase the 💪value of my 🔼 contributions.

small_man.png

Peace in Blunts Fam 🔥💨

good information
good pictures
nice post

Thanks a bunch! 😊

Dang. I'm not even an old-timer yet and I am lost. Good breakfast reading. Thanks.

That's okay! I'm pretty lost myself...

Thanks for stopping by!

Nice post! Crystal hash???! Really?

When i was a young un werent no bubble hash neither it was all Moroccan zero zero sieved and pressed hash. You crazy kids don't know you're born.... now where did I put my damn glasses?

lol, I remember the same type of hash. It was still around regularly, a few decades ago. :)

'A few decades ago' damn, turn that knife why don't you 😉

LOL

I look younger every day, through the right food/cannabis/attitude. I'm looking forward to my selfies will look like in another 10. ;) lol

LOL I don't know where you put your glasses, Methusaleh. When you were young? Are you 900 or so like the biblical Methusaleh? 😆 😅 😂

I forgot to mention pressed hash. That's another category altogether. Oh well, my post was getting a little lengthy. I'll save it for the next one.

You didn't save any of that Moroccan stuff did you?

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Wow. So much hash......i hope if i can use it to mine bitcoin though......

I've never smoked that kind of hash... lol!
Thanks for reading!

This post received a 4.15% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @chrisroberts! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Thank you very much Rando Sir!

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Minnowpond FTW!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61