How Marijuana Helps Me!

in #cannabis6 years ago

Hello Steem! Today I thought I would make a post about something that has a great impact on my life and could possibly help others in similar situations as myself.

Why Marijuana?

Marijuana plays a huge role in my life when it comes to my quality of life. I use cannabis as a medication for Anxiety/Depression due to the failure of other medications as well as the harm that they can cause. For anyone who has anxiety and has been prescribed medication for it you may know that a lot of the medications doctors give you are highly addictive and have a big impact on your body. After being on these medications for years I found that they were slowing me down so I decided to quit. I previously smoked marijuana and found it very relaxing so I began to look up any correspondence between cannabis and anxiety and I found out that Marijuana could help depending on the person. I decided to give it a try and lone behold I was able to get off all of these nasty medications and feel a little more normal and less groggy.

Marijuana and Anxiety:

When using cannabis to treat anxiety you have to be wary of the strains in which can help you. There is two different types of marijuana; Sativa and Indica. Sativa strains are typically very high and THC content and lower in CBD content giving you more of a head buzz after consuming. For treating anxiety you would rather an Indica strain or a Hybrid strain containing higher amounts of CBD giving you more of a body high which helps in calming anxiety. Some good strains for anxiety include:

  • Strawberry Cough (Sativa) – For social anxiety.
  •  Jack Herer (Sativa) – For general anxiety   
  • Granddaddy Purple (Indica) – For general anxiety.

Other Benefits from Cannabis:

Helping clear my anxiety was only one thing that cannabis helped me with. Another thing would be my insomnia. Throughout highschool I had problems falling asleep and staying sleep keeping me tired and dead throughout the day and knew that it would happen again that night.  I would rarely fall asleep at normal times and only once in a while would I get a good sleep. After consuming high CBD Indica strains I was able to actually fall asleep very fast as I would not think about not being able to sleep, I would just fall asleep! A strain I used for sleeping is:

  • Blackberry Kush (Indica) – For insomnia.

Another cannabis helped me with was my appetite. After being on all of these medications I started to lose my appetite eating max one meal per day. My doctor told me that was fine but by the way I was feeling I knew that was completely wrong. I started eating like a normal human again after consuming cannabis. As silly as the munchies concept is it truly helped me eat normally and to me that is a success.

Health Concerns:

A big thing my family was concerned with was the health risks. After showing them a lot of statistics on the benefits of cannabis, I also showed them the risks of my previous medications and they quickly jumped on the idea. If you look up the benefits and risks of marijuana and look up the benefits and risks of benzodiazepine's than you would understand you are taking less risk using cannabis. With a lot of medications being used today no matter what you take will cause health concerns but with the diverse ways of consuming cannabis you can feel much more at ease using it as a daily medicine.

If you enjoyed the read or found this beneficial, please leave an upvote and/or a comment as it helps me out a lot :) Thank you!


Sort:  

That is true that there is a correlation between marijuana and anxiety. However, it should be used under the control of a doctor, since very different kinds are available with different levels of effect. Plus every person might accounter with different side effects of the same marijuana. When you try to treat anxiety with marijuana, you may end up with substance-related disorders or schizophrenia which is worst then side effects of anti-anxiety medicines. Also, using marijuana for a long time is highly addictive. Please do not give medical advise to anyone since it requires a professional judgment which is only given by doctors. Finally, marijuana is still illegal in many countries and promoting something illegal is count as an illegal act. I suggest you to delete your post.

I think you may be talking from lack of experience first of all, I believe marijuana can be controlled by the user and not a doctor, but you should definitely talk to your doctor about it. I am not going to delete my post because 1. Medicinal Marijuana is legal where I am from so I can post about it if I want 2. It is not illegal to state facts and opinions about whatever you want, this platform you are using to post on, is literally meant for being able to say what you want to say and exercise your rights to freedom of speech. If this topic offends you are free to not read it as well :)

Research have proven that cannabidiol (cbd), some other foremost marijuana compound, appears to helpfull for humans with medical treatment.

yeah I have done a lot research on CBD :)

Such an amazing write up. I not only voted upon but shared and following you as well.

What state are you from if I may ask? Portland Oregon here!

Thank you very much! I am from Ontario Canada!

Well I can't wait to know more! Nice connecting with you! As well as supporting your work!

thank you for sharing! i also use ganja for anxiety and to help me sleep. Gorilla #4 is my favorite bedtime smoke.

I should definitely try that out as I heard a lot of hype about it when it was released :D

Insightful stuff thanks for the read.

I smoke but not too regularly and am no way up on the strains, I take what the dealer has.

Do you find any reduction in motivation with increased use? I have heard this to be a drawback.

How often would you spark up, as in what do you consider to be regular use?

I find motivation lacks in a traditional sense of wanting to get up and work your 9-5, but it increase motivation to learn new things for me. For me I spark up a handful of times per day to keep me good.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by papaholdonez from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 9.13% upvote!
I was summoned by @papaholdonez. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of @youarehope and @tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Congratulations @papaholdonez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This post has received a 0.75 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @papaholdonez.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80