Gardening Update: Cannabis, Week 13, The Harvest of Two Indoor Plants Grown In Soil.

in #cannabis7 years ago

It's the most wonderful time of the year.  Hahahaha! I hope you enjoy this little tune written by Edward Pola and George Wyle and performed by Andy Williams for his debut Christmas album in 1963.

                         

(This was posted by YouTuber; Claudette Colbert60 on Dec. 21, 2007)

I know it's August and this is just sick.  I couldn't help but hum this song as I harvested the two remaining plants, trimmed them of their big leaves and hung them out to dry.

Hahaha! It was the most wonderful time, because even though my fingers were sticky and that's not a sensation that I particularly enjoy especially as a massage therapist, the smell was fantastic!

(Something tells me that I am going to learn to love having sticky fingers.,,eventually.)

The Aromas That I Could Identify As They Wafted From These Plants Were: 

  • Grapefruit
  • Pine
  • Menthol
  • Blueberry
  • and Pepper

                         

@knarly327 and I cut all the main branches from the main stocks of each of the respective plants.

                         

This is one plant. It was bent over when it was just a little girl and we were able to lollipop it and train it to grow like a big bush. We were able to get 34 individual stems, all containing multiple buds, this way from the 2 plants in total.

                         

Here's her room-mate before she was harvested.

                         

It's a swirl of purple and green colouration. The purple wasn't that visible until the last week or so, but now you can really see it. Along with a multitude of loaded trichomes. We weren't able to discern any amber colouration in the trichomes, but made the decision to harvest, based on it being week #13 (in flower) and leaves that were starting to wilt naturally. For the last 3 weeks, the plants had been dropped down to 8 hours of light and 16 hours of total darkness. 

      

It's hard to believe that this transformation has occurred and I am thankful that I recorded the progression as each week passed.

 

Here's the size of the main stock (to give you a sense for how big these bushes were) for our first in-door grow. I now understand why people prefer to grow hydroponically inside. It saves a lot of space and I think that it ultimately lets you grow more plants per square foot of dedicated gardening space.

The Stocks Were Cut

Once we got the stocks cut, we stripped them of their big leaves and left the sugar leaves. These (the sugar leaves or the leaves closest to the buds) will be trimmed in a few weeks, once the branches have a chance to dry. (This is where the name "trim" comes from. Sometimes you'll have the opportunity to buy trim from a Dispensary or Licensed Producer. Usually this plant material is half the cost of the whole buds and still contains trichomes that are loaded with medicinal cannabinoids. I plan on using my trim to make a coconut oil infusion that will be eaten, eventually.)

                          

Let the Drying Begin!

We've been flushing these plants since week #10 and (now as of this afternoon) have them all hanging in our grow room, in the dark, with a dehumidifier running. When we put the dehumidifier in place, the relative humidity was 70% and in the span of a few hours had dropped to 47%. We've adjusted this again, with the goal of drying in a humidity range of 50-55% for the next few weeks.

                        


                          

Here's What I Have Learned And Will Do Differently With My Next Garden:

  • I plan to use smaller pots and I'm going to set my light a little higher to get more length in the stock before I bend it.
  • Once I get the plant bent, I'm going to try to keep the head of the plant lower than I did with my first grow to force more lollipopping of stems up from the main stock. 
  • I plan to get better at forcing more branches by pinching off single branches at their nodes, doubling with each pinch as the plant grows.
  • I plan to keep my light height set lower in the vegetative growth state so that the space between my buds are a lot shorter.
  • I will watch for magnesium deficiency and try harder not to burn my leaves with fertilizer.
  • I will do better at removing any male plants before they have a chance to fertilize my females (now that I know what they look like and how they behave).
  • Lastly, I'm going to look for gently used hydroponic equipment and add some additional LED lights around the periphery of my grow room so that I can benefit from more light reaching the sides of my plants. 

This growing business is intricate but I have to admit that it is incredibly satisfying to witness the changes from one week to the next.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...of course with some potent vapour and some good quality essential oil of cannabis along the way... if you're down for that. ;) 

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

Using Herculean Harvest from nectar for the gods would make them stronger and I never had to stake a plant or support it in any way. But does make it hard to bend

Good to know! Thanks for the tip. I will investigate that line and see if I can purchase it in Canada. :)
I have followed you.

Monstergardens.com carries the whole line I believe they do international

Following you. I like the tip

Oh how I would love to live close to you and your husband! Those flowers look great, I can smell them through my phone! Feel free to send me some Christmas brownies! 😁

I would love to...can you just move into a legal state? Hahaha!
Our doors are always open to you and yours, if you ever want to come for a visit. :)

It looks like the plants are thriving and still doing well.
I think whenever many of us doing something self-rewarding we all hum thing song in our minds @rebeccaryan, especially if the thing you are harvesting is cannabis haha

Hahaha! That damn song is still stuck in my mind today. LoL!

What a beautiful Christmas tree :) The sticky fingers will surely grow on you. PS I can smell it from here!

Hahaha! I should have decorated it before I cut it. Thanks for having a look and commenting @jeffjagoe!

Haha no problem, of this I would love to have more than just a look ;)

Tip!

Hi @rebeccaryan! @lykencrypto is sending you 0.1 SBD tip and @tipU upvote :)


@tipU quick guide | earn interest in @tipU profit

I've had the chance to follow the progress of these lovely plants for the last 3 months, you are a real passionate @rebeccaryan and as usual sharing so many useful info on these magical plants!
I'm so happy to see that it's already harvest time!
Looking forward to what amazing things you'll do with them now!

I had to harvest one of my plants at week #9, so I have turned its trim (sugar leaves) into a coconut oil infusion. This makes it really easy to medicate practically any recipe that you can use oil in. I can tell you that it is "a happy infusion".

@rebeccaryan
This has been a process for you. Indoor growing seems to me to be much more difficult than just growing plants outside in the sun.
Of course, in the winter.
Your method makes more sense. I know that you were involved in the whole process of growing the plants. And when they are handy and close to you. It makes it much easier. Plus, if you grew them outside. They have a greater chance of growing legs and walking off. Ha

Francis

Looks fantastic!

Thanks @dajohns1420! I made it this far with my first grow! LOL!

Great job @rebeccaryan . How do prepared the room so tge plant grow? For all I know its growing under special temperature and sm surprised that you grow in a room.

Hi @mostafa1! My husband and I built a special room. It has a high powered light, a fan and an exhaust fan that exhausts the smell through a carbon fitre and then outside. Temperature, humidity, light and water are all factors and are all measured.

Wow, it sounds extremely amazing @rebeccaryan I wish I could try it but thats illegal in my country. I wish one day I'll try the taste and the smell of pure cannabis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68493.85
ETH 3838.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64