The Cackle of Growers In Canada, In January

in #cannabis5 years ago (edited)

image

Let me start my little tale for you today by saying that the story you’re about to read is true.

I’ll set the stage...

@knarly327 and I own a small Day Spa.

3 years ago, when we both became legal (by meeting the Canadian government standards) we softly came out of the green closet, by deciding to dedicate a corner of our retail selection to specialty cannabis accessories.

Most of the items and tools we retail are related to making cooking with cannabis, easier.

We never really advertised and we didn’t change any of our signage to reflect the diversity of our inventory.

If you looked at our shop from the outside, you might simply think it was a beauty salon. (Read: nails, waxing, facials, massage and body-care products).

However, it’s now not uncommon for our retail section to be frequented by folks who generally need help with cannabis related questions and paraphernalia.

All of this business has just organically grown by word of mouth. Since Canada legalized cannabis, there are some days we actually provide more help on the cannabis side of things than we do on the spa side.

Most of the target market in that cohort (that we are helping on a daily basis) are over the age of 50, I might add.

So, I had just finished a rehabilitation session with one of my older Military Veterans and came out into our retail area to quickly grab something.

As I was doing that, I inadvertently walked into the middle of an animated conversation between two old school growers.

Here’s what I heard:

“I only bend over for buds.”

Then, there was an example given as the old guy bent at the waist to demonstrate his technique.

(They all know that I encourage the sharing of valuable information, freely.)

So now, I’m trying not to laugh as I absorb what is going on in our retail area.

“Damn it!” They saw me smile. I should have tried to be more inconspicuous with my grand entry into the room, I thought.

It was too late.

I got drawn into the conversation among the growers.

”Oh no! There’s trouble,” I heard one of them quip.

That was quickly followed by the following question:

”What do you say on the topic little Miss?”

In my best Mae West (read: husky, sarcastic and sultry voice) I responded with:

”Well fellas, you see that depends greatly...”

I waited two seconds before I retorted with:

”Any of you guys named Bud?”

The resounding answer from every man in the room was ”no.”

”In that case, yeah, I only bend over for buds.”

The cackling started.

I then started to sing.

This was uploaded to YouTube by rockomotive on June 26, 2006.

”It doesn’t always have to be hard boys...you might learn to work smarter.”

More cackling ensued.

”Teach yourself to lollipop and you won’t have to bend over so far.”

I winked at them before I left the room and made one finally request that somebody make me a t-shirt that says:

I only bend over for buds.

I couldn’t help but laugh, myself.

image

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

Only growers will know what lolipopping means, lol.

Lolz!!! It’s totally *Grower Humour” the only way I could deliver it...sarcastically, just like Mae.


Hahaha!

Should I start calling you out block chain Mae?

In my books, starting is easier than finishing...better to be looked over and called out, than overlooked and not called on at all. ;D

Omg Rebecca!! I almost forgot, one of my tall happy Jamaicans is a mutant!!! Did you come across one? I’ll do a post and drop link here soon if you don’t mind.

Does she have 3 leaves and appear to thin herself by selectively killing the leaves that she no longer needs?
If so, I had one this Summer do that...
We named her: Cruella.

That’s crazy...so looks fat like a Indica.

Classic. No one leave looks like a palm tree, and the growth is not uniform

Lol. It really is very funny

Glad it brought a smile to your face @magnata!
It’s a growers’ joke.

dang. where do you live. not near halifax eh. would like some spa items from your store lol

Hi @maarionbowes! No, unfortunately. I’m almost land locked in Ontario..:but not to worry because I have good friends who hail from Rose Bay. May even be out there, this summer. When we make the trip, I’ll definitely make a point of coming to see you and Lyndsay. ;)

most awesome that is for sure. I am from Ontario. Born and raised in Toronto. Lived in Pickering for 26 years. Took the plunge 4 years ago and retired to the coast.

Cool! Love the laid back vibe of Nova Scotia. ;)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Would love to visit your spa.... and my name isn’t Bud.

I don’t bend any of my plants, yet. Just happy to have them grow when it’s -50 Celsius outside....

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56