My Mardigrass Adventures in Nimbin

in #cannabis7 years ago

Mardigrass is an annual cannabis law reform rally in Australia that has been running for over 20 years in the tiny NSW town of Nimbin.

FSpics_Nimbin-15.jpg

My first trip to Nimbin was during a holiday road trip up the East coast of Australia with my wife a few years back. We hired a camper van and only really had plans for Bluesfest in Byron Bay and the Mardigrass festival in Nimbin that happen about one week apart.

FSpics_Nimbin-2.jpg

FSpics_Nimbin-4.jpg

FSpics_Nimbin-1.jpg

The local fish shop

FSpics_Nimbin-20.jpg

4:20 Rally

FSpics_Nimbin-11.jpg

FSpics_Nimbin-13.jpg

The Aboriginal Elders in the region lead the parade

FSpics_Nimbin-14.jpg

Ganja Fairies

FSpics_Nimbin-17.jpg

FSpics_Nimbin-12.jpg

The Hemp Olympics


Events include joint rolling comps for speed and creativity, a growers iron man challenge and a 'tug of war' against the local police. There is also live bands and product demos, comedians and legal advise talks, and if you are lucky enough to find it, there are underground cannabis comps that are not promoted. My favorite event would have been the bong throw.

FSpics_Nimbin-3b.jpg

The bong "chucker" is circled and the arrow points to the bong.

Our next time there we volunteered to help set up and got to see the event before the event started. Camped behind the hemp embassy near the main stage and meeting some of the locals was a much better experience. I helped to build the main stage and some other smaller shelters using bamboo, while my wife helped in the kitchen to feed the volunteers.

FSpics_Nimbin-19.jpg

FSpics_Nimbin-22.jpg

FSpics_Nimbin-23.jpg

FSpics_Nimbin-24.jpg

Cheers 🍄



All photos were taken with my phone and have been edited in Lightroom.

Sort:  

Nice post...thanks for sharing this with us

Hi @the-fillosopher,

I'm @joshua-golbuu, or Josh for short and I just joint @TeamAustralia / #TeamAustralia a few week ago (I moved from the islands of Micronesia to Australia to study and live here).

I just wanted to drop a note to say hello.

I don't have many recent post because I just finish my last exam Friday, but I very much like to get to know everyone in our team. Hope we will meet on Steemit.

here is my re-intro with more details: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@joshua-golbuu/from-micronesia-to-australia-my-journey-re-introducing-myself-to-teamaustralia-and-to-everyone-in-steemit-after-my-exams

Peace ✌ & 💖 love!

Hi! I want to send you free beats to rap on can I do that? :D

Congratulations @the-fillosopher! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @the-fillosopher! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66101.68
ETH 3023.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71