Skoda Fabia Short-Shifter - DIY Bodge Job

in #car6 years ago

Hi All,

While I'm having fun trying to get the DIY water/methanol system working properly (which I think I'm almost there, just lacking in flow pressure), I've been tinkering in other ways on the car.

I've decided to fit a 'short shifter' selector to the gearbox. Even though this particular ebay listing stated that it was compatible with my car, it most definitely wasn't. The counter-weight was too 'tall' and couldn't be fitted due to fouling with the battery box.

20180828_152202.jpg

Seething; I was ready to have a good slanging match with the seller but instead opted for a bit of DIY trickery. The rest of the selector was correct in terms of size and fitment and so I gave it a good licking with the angle grinder :)

20180829_155450.jpg

After a tidy up of the cut marks, a degrease and the judicial application of bright red rattle-can paint, the lump of metal was looking much better :)

20180830_144811.jpg

I took to YouTube and watched several videos on the process of swapping out the selector and so feeling rather brave, I committed myself to fitting it.

20180830_161331.jpg

The gear lever throw has noticeably reduced now with only a slight increase of force required to pummel through the gears. I don't think it's reduced the shift times though but hey!!! to me it's good ;)

[little things please little minds]

Well folks, that's all from me for now.
No doubt I'll retreat into my cave for another month or two before hitting the 'post' button again :)

Bye for now!
Egg.

footer2.png

Sort:  

Good bit of modification there! Great job man.

Cheer PV, there's nowt an angle grinder can't sort! ;)
LOL

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00