You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The date of change of car oil is a big lie

in #car7 years ago

It didn't give me a headache but I laughed when it said change your oil at 2000 to 3000km. I've never seen that recommended anywhere - me, thinks they have confused kilometers with miles.

Nor could I find any mention of this Denis Schilder, or the US Auto Institute, or the "International Standards and Standards Agency"

Nor is there any cited document or any other source for these quotes.

While I personally could easily believe that a fixed mileage of 3000 miles to change oil is always going to be a guess and compromise I'm certain engine oil does not have an infinite life and that at some point there has to be an optimal time to change it balancing decreasing efficiency causing increased engine wear with cost of engine replacement and cost of oil.

Maybe a nice set of citations of peer-reviewed reproduced research backing up any of these claims would go a long way to separate your post from "part non-sense, part gibberish." as @viciousrunt so bluntly put it.

Sort:  

That's exactly what I would have said if I were smarter and more eloquent.
It filters the spirit of my comments exactly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69299.72
ETH 3669.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.28