Road Construction Nightmare

in #car6 years ago

Yesterday, I was hanging out with a close friend all afternoon/night. We were having such a great time that I didn't leave until 01:30 AM, and I was so super tired (he offered the couch to me in case I wanted to sleep over, but I do prefer my own bed). So, as I am driving, I am getting hungry, as well as tired, and for a woman, "hangry" is not to be trifled with. When I had driven for about 15 minutes, and just about to get on the freeway (E6), I see a sign that says "Road Closed". I was like "WTF, how can this road be closed - it is the freaking freeway?!". I asked a man who was putting up traffic cones to close the road where I was supposed to drive, and he told me to go back the way I came. Seriously?! But, I had no choice. I turned around and drove back. 7 mins extra driving each way unnecessarily, because hey, they could have put a sign down in Hauketo which is the only other road out of the area.

IMG_3440.PNGWhen I finally made it to the old freeway ( E18, 50km/hour speed limit, yup...), I suddenly saw a road work car with flashing lights PARKED in the middle of the road. I lost it. I walked out and yelled at the poor guy in the car, but he was simply lost and unaware of me, so he thankfully moved away. At this point I really really really wished I had just spent the night with my friend...

After about 5km I could finally drive onto the regular freeway again, but, crap always comes in three's, so what do you know, the tunnel that connects to the freeway was closed, and I had to take ANOTHER detour of several kilometers. Talk about not being my night. I was so angry that I started to laugh, because this was too ridiculous to fathom. IMG_3426.JPG

This was really not my night. At least I got a few hours of sleep, and I have learned, next time I am staying over.

Sort:  

The funniest thing was when I got it all live through chat, and then she suddenly said "I should have slept over!" :D

Haha. I know it is usually closed roads that late on the highway. They do maintenance when most people dont drive. Thats why I offered it. Late, far drive, probably closed roads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84