Cardcaptor Sakura and The New Kid

Cardcaptor Sakura and The New Kid

And by "kid", I am not referring to Li Syaoran.

SPOILER ALERT!

YOU AREN'T SUPPOSED TO BE HERE IF YOU HAVEN'T STARTED SEASON 4, EPISODE 4!

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I can't help but spazz over this new character in Cardcaptor Sakura Season 4: Clear Card Arc.

The Cardcaptor Sakura series first aired in 1998 but it was in 2001 when ABS-CBN first released its Filipino dubbed episode in the Philippines.

Cardcaptor Sakura is my childhood. It was my dream to be Sakura Kinomoto – going to school in my pair of red and yellow rollerblades and wearing the usual cutesy uniform as seen in most animes, having a room all to myself, rocking a short hairdo, etc. Syaoran Li was supposed to be my future husband, and I would have a Tomoyo Daidouji of my own. Having a big brother was out of the picture since I was the eldest but I did wish for Touya and Yukito to be together, even as a kid.

But none of that ever happened, except for Touya and Yuki having this "mutual understanding" of some sort. (I've only watched the anime in full but I haven't read the manga. Please correct me if I'm wrong.)

So here I am in 2018. 17 years after watching it on television and CLAMP surprises me with this new character.

Cardcaptor-Sakura-Clear-Card-Akiho-Shinomoto.jpg

If you would asked who my top three were, I'd say:

  1. Tomoyo Daidouji
  2. Meiling Li
  3. Sakura Kinomoto

But this new kid just topped my list! Her name is Akiho Shinomoto. I have a thing with ash gray-colored hair. Some would say it's sort of brown but I'd like to believe its ash gray. Haha! I've always dreamt of having this hair color which may be the reason why I instantly liked Akiho.

I was intimidated at first when I learned that there was a new character, a girl even. During the first part where Akiho was introduced to the others, I've always kept watch on Syaoran's reactions, thinking that if she had powers, Syaoran might be drawn to her too.

Screenshot_2018-01-30-00-43-44-57.png

Akiho also showed having the same wavelength as my beloved love team, Sakura and Syaoran, so despite liking her, I must admit, I was still a bit uneasy. 'It can't be another Meiling,' I thought.

cheesy corn.jpg

At the end of the episode, what seemed like a threat to Syaoran's relationship with Sakura quickly turned into a threat to Tomoyo instead. Why didn't I notice this when she was introduced to class? Sheesh.

Screenshot_2018-01-30-00-43-42-25.png

I'm currently waiting for episode 5 and hopefully it would give me more reasons to love Akiho. I watch every Monday so I have a few more days to wait before its... RELEASE!

(pun intended)

That's it! Leaving you with the Filipino translation of Sakura's battle line as she calls out the Key of Seal.

"Oh, susi natatago ng kapangyarihan ng kadiliman, ipakita niyo ang totoong anyo sa akin. Sundin niyo ang utos ko bilang bagong tagapagmahala! RELEASE!"

End!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71