You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemitBoard Carnival Challenge - The Post

in #carnival5 years ago

What the heck!?! They don’t let you have carnivals up in Canada?! Or do you crazies just call it something else? 🤔

You aren’t missing much, they are a bit sad most of the time.. even though we call them “fairs” around these parts.. but my goodness I didn’t have to google it. 😜

Sort:  

There's one around here that I've never been to. Pretty sure it'd qualify as "cultural appropriation" to go.

I grew up in South Jersey and what is known as Carnival we called: Shrove Tuesday which is the day before Ash Wednesday (I grew up in the Episcopal Church). We would have pancakes. Later, when I lived with my Puerto Rican foster-parents (Assemblies of God/Pentecostals), they did not celebrate.

I have never been to Carnival, but did have a layover in New Orleans once. Those folks don't need Carnival as an excuse to party from my experience. Bourbon Street is off the hook!

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85