The daunting task of my basement remodel into a wood shop Post 2

in #carpentry7 years ago (edited)

Greetings!

Today and yesterday, I was working in my basement cutting some white oak for one of the table tops where the miter saw is going. This wood was reclaimed from a 150 year old barn loft floor. It was so warped and in different directions. So the best thing I could think of is cutting the planks down the middle then surface plane them flat. This worked out pretty good and the wood is looking pretty good now.
IMG_20170621_192533.jpg

This is what some of the wood looked like before I got started.
IMG_20170621_192600.jpg

Tomorrow I will glue and screw the top down and start on the second table top. For now time to clean up the saw dust!

Just when everything was going good, the shop vac has a heart attack.
IMG_20170621_143938.jpg

I checked all the wiring, it seems to be ok.
IMG_20170621_144617.jpg

This might take some time to fix. I think it is the switch but wiring direct is not working either so there must be a thermal fuse built into the motor some place. The brushes look good.

Hmm it is amazing to me how people in this day and age do not fix appliances anymore! So much waste! Hire some one to fix your appliances! Create a job for some one. * smiles * Last month my son worked for a friend of his and was given a rider mower in exchange, it took about forty bucks in parts to fix the problem and it works great now.

Well Thank you for reading this post! Feel free to up-vote and comment if you found this to your liking. Or if you found something useful Thank you all.

Peace to all and have a great day!


my avatar image provided by http://www.clker.com/clipart-teal-bee.html


All Content on this post is 100% @carpenterbee in thought and action


@carpenterbee

Sort:  

Dude, so on board with fixing appliances. I hate seeing huge trash piles full of good stuff.
Some friends of mine think I'm a weirdo for trying to fix things, but then they turn around and buy garbage from target that only lasts them one year at most, then its in the trash pile. They say with the hours I spend working on things, the object itself is not worth the labor, but the jokes on them, I enjoy doing it!

I agree, products sold today are designed on purpose to fail at a given time to drive the consumer market. I will tinker with all kinds of stuff. I think i have more working thrown out stuff then i have new. Thanks for the comment

Congratulations @carpenterbee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The photos remind me of all the time I have spent on my knees, staring at a piece of broken something, apparently waiting for it to heal itself!

  • smiles * Yeah I had they same thoughts sometimes. Thank for you comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67495.61
ETH 3713.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66