You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY Auto Repairs Saved Me Thousands! - Part 1

in #cars5 years ago (edited)

Wow that's insane $7500!?!?! Craziness. I'm interested in the rest of the story to find out what you did. I heard that if your vehicle is overheating, it helps to turn on the heating. Not sure if that's a myth or something but I think it cools down the coolant by sucking the heat out of it to heat the air. It would be a temporary fix just to get you where you need to go to get it looked at. I've never tried myself though.

Sort:  

Yes, that is what I did. But if that doesn't make your gauge go down at least a little right away, that is an important clue as to what is wrong...often a bad water pump or too low on coolant. I made a few posts about this a while back: https://steemit.com/cars/@pinkspectre/why-is-my-vehicle-overheating & https://steemit.com/cars/@pinkspectre/why-is-my-vehicle-overheating-part-2 . On the first one, @howagain.com gives an insightful comment regarding this, and they seem much more knowledgeable than I am on the subject.

Okay I see. That's good to know.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86