My (moms) Škoda Felicia 1.6 - Near death experience

in #cars6 years ago

As you probably already know that you cannot be a true blue-blooded petrol-head without crashing at least one car. This is my story, or the story of my moms Škoda Felicia.

DSC00979.JPG

This was a long time ago, more than ten years when I was still young, inexperienced and thought that I can drive well as Michael Schumacher in his F1 car with my moms Škoda with its huge 1.6ccm and 75 furious Czech horsepower under the bonnet.

DSC00953.JPG

The car was crap, but I have loved it - since it was the only car that I can use.

Don't get me wrong I can blame only myself for this accident but the little Felicia was hugging the curves in a way that was not helpful at all. The shocks were so abused that the roll in corners was like of a Citroen 2CV - nearly rubbing the pavement with the chassis in curves. It looked crazy - but there is very little control with a suspension set up like that.

DSC00972.JPG

It was a beautiful spring day, May 1.st - Il never forgets it, four of us have jumped in the Škoda after a crazy night and not too much sleep looking for new adventures that the world can offer. Nobody expected events turning out like this.

DSC00973.JPG

I have entered the corner a bit too fast and missed the apex of the corner, my expectations were understeer as always. But because of extra weight in the back that I was not used to having people in the back the car on my surprise started to oversteer.

DSC00974.JPG

Tried to correct it but because of shocks/inexperience I've overdone it and returned it to the path towards the ditch. Managed to turn the car again towards the road but the right wheels already caught some grass car slipped and violently slammed with the right back wheel in the ditch.

DSC00975.JPG

The car was rolling once or twice really cannot remember and stopped upside down in the ditch. All of us were strapped in our seatbelts except for a guy that was missing from the rear passenger seat. Worst things already came to my head... I cannot describe the commotion and the state of our minds then.

DSC00977.JPG

I've clicked the passenger's seatbelt and mine immediately after because we were hanging upside down like bats in our seats. The exit in the drivers and co-drivers side was blocked, we had to crawl on the roof to get out where we picked up a friend from the back (unfasten seatbelt and let him fall on his head :). We got out and found our fourth member already on the road waving to us.

DSC00978.JPG

Nobody knows for sure, but the general opinion is that he did not fasten the seatbelt and that the force of the first hit just threw him out of the window. I think no one will know for sure how, but I am so grateful that he did not end up under the car or something else.

DSC00981.JPG

In all of this no one was hurt, yeah we had some bruises and a few cuts from exiting the car but that was it.

DSC00983.JPG

DSC00984.JPG

The car was scrapped and I have learned a huge life lesson. Even if you are doing something crazy - do it alone or yet better don't do it at all! Every lesion is worth if you learn something from it.

Hey you! Like cars? Tune in!
All videos and text published in this post are my original work and it is based on a true story
The photos were taken with mobile phone cam.

Throttle ON!

@mKaralic

Sort:  

Aww, it just needed a buffing and that would of came out! LOL

No, in all seriousness. That car could of been repaired and back on the road again. Didn't look all that bad, however I guess it might of been cheaper to just scrap it instead of fixing it.

Glad everyone got out ok, that's the main thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49