I'm going Big Single on my Rx7 FD3S! Project!

in #cars6 years ago

Remember that video I put out last week about stripping my RX7 FD turbo assembly so that I could assess the primary boost failure and install a 76mm HKS downpipe. Well, that's officially gone out the window as I've been completely fed up with the large amount of vacuum hoses, solenoids, air valves and actuators that are looming in this tightly compacted engine bay.

This was quite a rash decision but it will simplify a lot of mess and will make future driving, hopefully, a little more fun!

I've started putting together a shopping list of parts that I will share with you all in the near future but it entails, new fuel system (Pump, FPR, etc), downpipe and exhaust, intercooler and piping, oil feeds, blanking plates, turbo manifold, wastegate and many other things, like a datalogit, wideband and an electronic boost controller.

I have already purchased a turbo, it's not the greatest of things as I picked it up second hand but has 0 axial play which is great! Once I have everything setup, I can just enjoy the car at wastegate pressure (0.5bar) until I decide on an upgrade turbo. Perhaps a Borg Warner or Holset HX40.

The turbo I bought is actually not that bad, after reading mixed reviews on forums due to assumptions I'm yet to find a thread with actual issues. I also found a great article on someone who stripped one and states it is cast in as 1 piece and not 2, also great ball bearings and relatively good impeller blades. This turbo charger is built by XS Power and is a GT45 equivalent with a T4 flange and 1.15 AR exhaust (Yes, it's huge, rotaries move a lot of exhaust gas!) Don't worry I'll be giving this turbo a good once over and a possible core replacement.

Rest assured, I'll be buying all other parts brand spanking new and am extremely excited and nervous to begin this new project.

Unfortunately I'm going to be ditching the Datsun 280z Project as that seemed to be quite fruitless here as a crowdfunder. I'll be making a separate post in response to that though. The RX7 big single build takes preference!

If you would like to donate any STEEM or SBD to assist in this extensive build, I'll shout you out in the next post and video! Thanks for all the support guys.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

Sounds like an exciting move you're making there :)
I'll send a little SBD your way to help buddy :)

Eggy! Thank you so much buddy, you really didn't have to! Appreciate it, will definitely shout you out on the next official big turbo post :) Thank you!!

Hi @nelkeljdm, no problem matey, it's all for a worthy cause :) I've just logged on and noticed you've got a post regarding the big turbo project https://steemit.com/cars/@nelkeljdm/f-ck-the-rx7-fd3s so I will give it a watch asap :)

btw, I've done some SH2OMI testing today (posts and videos to follow on the main 'Eggmeister' channel), unfortunately it wasn't as thorough a test as it could have been so I'll have to do some more in the near future. As a heads up for the forthcoming post(s), I didn't seem to find any difference in the 30-60 mph times in 3rd gear with and without system active (both around 5.5 secs). Though on a single 0-60mph dash (including a slight 'bogging-down' on the initial spool-up, I seem to have managed an 8 second dead time which is very nice and puts a smile on my face. When I first got the car and fitted the tuning box I was only just getting a 9 second time so I'm not sure if the water/methanol has shaved a full second off or it's the K&N cotton panel filter and the de-restricted snorkel that's made the bulk improvement???

Any hoo, I've just got home and during this testing early I've used about 300ml of water (when I've topped the washer bottle back up) on the 30-60mph test, 0-60mph test, and a couple of silly 'blats!' on the way home..... so I'm guessing 250-300ml a minute which is roughly what the 0.6mm misting nozzle is capable of. I do have a 0.8mm nozzle that take the flow up to 380ml a minute so I might give that a go at some point :)

The issue with the indifference of the 30-60 times really has my head scratching though???? They're doesn't appear to be any puddles in the scuttle area when I checked yesterday or in the engine bay on the misting nozzle coupling so I can only assume it's all going into the combustion chamber.

I'll shut up now matey, I've droned on too long ;)

Cheers,
Robster.

EDIT

One thing I just remembered, the 'test track' I used today had a very slight decline angle so I'm not sure if that would account for the 1 second off?

Perhaps this water/methanol stuff isn't as good as I thought??? Or maybe I should add some methanol to the water??? I don't want a strong mix as I'm not sure if the methanol will eat the silicone pipe?

Going single will save you from a lot of headaches, vacuum lines could take forever to trace and replace, too many potential leaks to find. Not to mention going single will save some weight! I don't think you need the sequential twin turbo unless your racing on a tight mountain road like a Touge where you need response in the lower rpm's, this isn't initialD its real life, lol.

Ah dude, for sure! I believe the twin turbo setup weighs in at around 35kg, including hardpipe vacuum, turbos, metal y pipe and intakes vs the 14kg+- single turbo... Not bad!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97